We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful; terrific hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robberg Nature Reserve

Robberg Nature Reserve
8 kms south of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful; terrific hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Takes a little longer than the four hours they advertise, unless you are very spry. Seals on the bay side can be stinky, but other than that, one of the best hikes you will ever do.,

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    85
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best hike in South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I got a little insecure about hiking the trails at Robberg nature reserve as I'm six months pregnant and afraid (terrified) of heights, but we decided to go anyway and I'm so glad that we did as it was such a beautiful hike! We did the medium length trail and I felt safe the whole trip. The views are stunning! This hike is also not too exhausting. Don't forget to enquire about the tides though and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Robberg Nature Reserve is one of the most amazing places I have visited. We took the 2 hour hike at 4pm, when it was cooler and met four people along the way. So to have this place practically to yourself is great. Set off from the car park, facing Plettenberg, then you will end up walking down the sand dunes, into a beautiful deserted beach, just breath taking.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Outstanding hike, but to be taken with care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Robberg Nature Reserve offers some of the most stunning views in an area which is completely unspoiled and retaining outstanding natural beauty. It is important to follow the signs indicating the walkways which are, for the most part, adequately positioned.

This is not a walk for those who are seriously unfit or who suffer serious vertigo. Having said that, I am 61 years old, weigh rather more than I should and have a moderate intolerance to heights. Having said that, I thoroughly enjoyed the hike with only a few nervous moments. You do need to wear proper walking shoes or very robust trainers. Taking at least a litre of water with you is essential for the half way trip, more if you are going all the way to the point and back. Take a compact camera with you and a pair of binoculars but other than these, you do not want to be carrying any more than you absolutely have to: you will need both your hands for parts of the hike where some climbing is necessary. This is not a walk for young children: awareness of danger and being sensible are pre-requisites for this hike.

I would strongly advise taking the clockwise route, which bears off to the left after the car park. The reason is that, at the midway point, there are steep dunes of soft sand which are easy enough to descend, but to ascend would be another matter entirely.

We did half of the peninsular, turning at the midway point. There is a warning sign advising you not to proceed to the end of the peninsular unless you have reached the half way point by 14:00. Looking at other TA reviews, this advice should be taken very seriously.

The views of the sea, beaches, dunes, rocks, seals, flora and fauna are among the wonderful spectacles that you will marvel at. The hike leaves you feeling invigorated.

This is justifiably the #1 attraction in the area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lots to see if you look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

40 rand each to get in, I believe. Well worth it.
Whales (few humpbacks) and dolphins offshore. Fur seals and a single elephant seal on the rocks below. We were told that sharks can be seen but not on the day we were there.
Plenty of bird life - including numerous Sunbirds. Rodents. The geology of the place is amazing.
And a good scenic walk. But take your time and observe. Masses to see.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robberg Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Robberg Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robberg Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.