We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, cozy & stylish place complete with kind hosts and lovely golden retrievers plus the best breakfasts ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquavit Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Aquavit Guest House to your Saves list
Aquavit Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Serica Place | P.O. Box 31, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Directly SAVE 5% !!
1 review
“Amazing, cozy & stylish place complete with kind hosts and lovely golden retrievers plus the best breakfasts ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Amazing, cozy & stylish place complete with kind hosts and lovely golden retrievers plus the best breakfasts ever! We received lots of advice for great resturants and other activties. Emily Moon and Nkudu were two of the awesome tips we got. Hanging out by the pool or anywhere in the beatiful house was truly relaxing. We enjoyed our stay very much and would love to come back anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
188
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We received an exceptionally warm welcome from Linda and Ole when we arrived at Aquavit Guest House.

Our bedroom was beautifully furnished, very clean and comfortable. The whole property is a delight to be in with interesting pieces of art placed at every turn.

Breakfast was outstanding! A complete delight - looked and tasted delicious!

I can not praise the guest house highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Could not have chosen a better place to stay in plettenberg bay! awesome property, magnificent view, open pool and sexy queen bathtub, last but not the least extremely hospitable couple...would love to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and we could not have chosen a better place. All the reviews saying how good it is are totally correct. Our first trip to SA and we were amazed at how good the accommodation was and the service from Linda and Ole and the staff ( innocent was superb)!was superb. Everyone loved the dogs Bo and Dakota plus the breakfast experience. The interior and design of Aquavit was loved by all of us. Overall brilliant .

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The guest house is situated in a quiet, safe residential area of Plettenberg with stunning views over the bay. The property is beautifully designed, well maintained, spotlessly clean and of a very high standard throughout.
Our bedroom was spacious and beautifully furnished leading directly onto the pool deck. The ensuite bathroom was well equipped and of a high standard. There was no air conditioning in the bedroom, something which we would have expected in a property of this standard and price.
Immediately outside our bedroom, on the pool deck, a table and chairs was provided and it was very pleasant to sit poolside and relax while watching the magnificent views over Plettenberg Bay. However, in the afternoon, the pool was in the shade of the house which didn’t unduly impact on us as we are not sun worshipers. Breakfasts were excellent, served on a beautiful terrace overlooking the bay, under Linda’s supervision.
Unlike a small number of other guests, we did not find Linda and Ole in the least protective of their property. Obviously there are house rules but none that we could find in the slightest objectionable. Indeed we found Linda and Ole excellent hosts who went out of their way to welcome us and help in any way they could. We stayed in eights guest houses during out trip to South Africa, some of equal top standards to Aquavit. However, while we knew the tariffs when we booked, in retrospect we found Aquavit more expensive in comparison to other comparable establishments in Cape Town and beyond. Nevertheless, we highly recommend Aquavit for its very friendly owners, the excellence of its accommodation and its location and when visiting Plettenberg, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We keep coming back to Plettenberg Bay and one of the most beautiful bays around the world! Now we know where to stay next time - no need to look any further! Aquavit will exceed your expectations in all different ways - from wonderful tastefully decorated and super clean rooms to incredible breakfasts prepared by your hosts Linda and Ole. Also, you should really listen to their local restaurants recommendations more than to advice on Trip Advisor ;-) They do have a very good taste and the latest info (which chef is still there or not). We stayed three nights as we were celebrating my Dad's upcoming 80th Birthday and invited him for the first time experience in South Africa - he liked it so much he didn't want to go back home... We shall be back! thanks again for a wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I would throughly recommend Aquavit, I have been visiting South Africa for most of my life and this was really a memorable experience, even though we only stayed one night (we had to move on for safari after!) Linda and Ole couldn't do more for us and have a beautiful house and we really appreciated the elegant decor and all the little details ie fabulous bath salts, delicious & very well presented breakfast and chairs and towels for the beach. They also recommended the restaurant Emily Moon, which based on its amazing atmosphere and service is by far the best in town. The house was also very clean and furniture/towels etc to a very high standard. We wished we had stayed longer, but will definitely be recommending Aquavit to friends and will visit when we return to Plett!

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the bay are the best esp the honeymoon suite on the lower floor for more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquavit Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquavit Guest House

Address: 8 Serica Place | P.O. Box 31, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquavit Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquavit Guest House is a newly built contemporary home with 5 en-suite guestrooms offering the most updated fixtures and finishes. Aquavit has a welcoming environment with attention to detail to ensure your stay a memorable one. Our guestrooms boast single, queen and king beds. A beautiful bathtub awaits you in our luxury king canopy suite "One" with salt crystals to soothe away your stress. The terrace has an area to relax, within steps of the 10-metre Infinity pool and lovely garden, where you can gaze at the sea and mountains. A full gourmet English breakfast is served on the terrace with attention to detail so your breakfast will taste as good as it looks - a perfect start to your day! All our en-suite guestrooms have spectacular views and steps out to a terrace or patio, 32” DSTV, WIFI, Internet availability, and private lounge. Our entire staff welcomes you, including Beau and Dakota, our Golden Retrievers who will also happily greet you upon your arrival. Come see why we are called “Water of Life”! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aquavit Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquavit Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquavit Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.