We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bitou River Lodge

Save Saved
You added Bitou River Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bitou River Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful & relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Bitou River Lodge and it was perfect. Very clean accommodation with everything you need. The bed was very comfortable the best one out of all of our guest houses.
Zinzi the dog is very friendly, and very well trained not to enter the guests rooms. The garden down to the river is beautiful, with lots of various birds to sit and watch.
Sue is an excellent host recommending places to eat your evening meal and booking a table for you. The breakfasts are out of this world, and Sue is the best cook ever, Banana & chocolate chip muffins & Scones, as well as a fantastic cooked breakfast, it is all so perfect.

Thank you Sue for a wonderful stay and for looking after us so well. Kim & Ian.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thanks, Kim & Ian, hope we'll see you again before too long! Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

On our road trip around the Western Cape one of the best places we found to stay was the Bitou River Lodge. The guesthouse setting, by the side of the river filled with a tangle of colourful waterlilies, is very picturesque and tranquil, and the available canoes looked inviting. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortably and tastefully furnished. Our hostess, Sue, was very gracious, helpful and keen to see all our needs were met. Tea and cakes on our veranda made our welcome complete. We only stayed one night but would like, at some time in the future to return to this quiet, peaceful haven.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I hope you will return! Huge thank you for such a lovely review!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Bitou twice over the last few years, and we really can't recommend it highly enough. We've just returned from a 5 night stay over Easter with other members of our family who have all been converted to its brilliance!

The Lodge is just FANTASTIC, it's nestled next to the Bitou River with all the rooms looking out directly out onto the river. It means you can happily spend a relaxing day in the grounds of the Lodge reading a book, swimming by the pool or taking a canoe down the river.

Sue is a wonderful host, always happy to answer your questions, make recommendations or organise restaurant bookings for you as well as going the extra mile to make sure you have a comfortable stay.

Rooms are well appointed, with really comfortable beds and a separate lounge area. They also have a small kitchen with a fridge, sink and crockery, it means that you have the option of using the Braai for an evening meal rather than heading to one of the many restaurants in Plett. Breakfast is a feast with fresh fruit, homemade muffins and a cooked breakfast available daily. Perfect for fuelling you for a busy day out and about.

Really can't recommend Bitou River Lodge highly enough. The prices are very good and do look to see if your schedule allows you to take advantage of some of the 3:4:2 or 7:4:4 offers on rooms. I suspect we'll be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks so much for the awesome review! Much appreciated! I'm impressed by your TripAdvisor status....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful location outside Plett, well-tended lawns, inviting river and very friendly hostess and dogs. The whole breakfast was delicious and varied, and we slept deeply - although we would recommend sleeping masks, or getting up early. Bit of a trek to the nearest restaurant, but Enrico's is worth the journey. Thanks Sue (and Zindzi!), we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Next time we'll send you to Emily's for dinner - much closer....
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here about 10 years ago and had a wonderful time. It hasn't changed. Of all the places we stayed in South Africa - this was the most friendly and Sue is the most perfect host. The situation beside the Bituo river is perfect and there are canoas are availed to use

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I hope we'll see you here again!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful location in Plettenberg bay. the view is just great, Bitou River and nothing else. Very nice places to go out for dinner. An absolutley must is to have a car! Will most likely stay again in Bitou River lodge on my next trip to Plett. -Peter

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your review - greatly appreciated!
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We think this place is awesome and a great spot to explore the Garden Route from. Sue was keen to look after us from the time we arrived - and provided particularly fantastic breakfasts - and the location is sensational. We were able to have some lovely barbecues and were disappointed not to have a had time to canoe down the Bitou. There's lots of beautiful wildlife to enjoy and the cat and dogs make the place feel very homely. The rooms are decorated very tastefully and are really cosy. There is no AC but it wasn't too hot to sleep even though the day we arrived was scorching. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bitoubabe, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
A big thank you for the awesome review! Next time the canoeing ....
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bitou River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitou River Lodge

Address: off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitou River Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the birds on the river from your bed. Explore the wetlands by canoe. Swim in the pool or at one of Plettenberg Bay's beautiful beaches. Enjoy traditional farmhouse breakfasts and hospitality at this Provençal-style guest house. Bitou River Lodge is both a destination in its own right and a central base for exploring the area - golf courses, forests, beaches, game farms, shops and restaurants are all just a ten-minute drive away. Sue speaks English, Afrikaans, French and some German. We welcome children who are 10 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bitou River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bitou River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.