We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emily's Restaurant at Emily Moon River Lodge

Emily's Restaurant at Emily Moon River Lodge
PO Box 1936, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
+27 44 533 2982
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: African, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa .
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Most Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This has got to be one of the most romantic dreamy places that I have eaten at. The view was simply out of this world and the food was amazing. the service was great, and although we sat outside isolated from everyone else, the waiter never forgot about us. Would definitely go back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    92
    35
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Emalahleni
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic or Family Dinners at Emily Moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A true Wonderland at night, candle lit pathways, great food, great service don't miss this gem of a restaurant

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“"Sunday lunch rip off"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We live in Plettenberg Bay and have always loved going to Emily Moon on a Sunday for lunch.
So we decided once again to visit on Sunday the 20th. What a disaster !
They have now decided to offer a small 'buffet' lunch and your plate is weighed !!!!
The food was mediocre and very expensive ! A complete rip off ! Luckily we did not have a lot to eat otherwise the bill would have been even higher.
There was hardly anyone in the restaurant, empty, and I am not surprised why.
Mentioning this to a lawyer friend, his comment was as follows:
'They always used to be a great restaurant, now it is crappy and expensive !'

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyM00n, General Manager at Emily's Restaurant at Emily Moon River Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Henny

Thank you for your feedback. I am greatly concerned about your bill being excessively priced.
I would like to discuss the matter with you and rectify any mistakes from our side.
Please provide me with your contact details or you can contact me on alex@emilymoon.co.za
Kind Regards
Alex Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food in plett”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Had prawn and pork belly skewer starter, and a fillet steak for mains. All the food was delicious and they cooked and rested the steak to perfection. The atmosphere and view are excellent and the service is friendly and efficient. Good cappuccino too!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyM00n, General Manager at Emily's Restaurant at Emily Moon River Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind words
Regards
Alex Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal here and cannot fault the food, service, ambience and will be back on our next trip to Plett. The decor is lovely and the big open fire makes the restaurant so cosy. The food was great and probably the best it has ever been here. We have been coming to Emily's over a number of years on our visits to Plett and it is one of our favourite places, cannot wait to go back again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily's Restaurant at Emily Moon River Lodge also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Emily's Restaurant at Emily Moon River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emily's Restaurant at Emily Moon River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.