We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bramon Wine Estate

Bramon Wine Estate
N2 | The Crags, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
00 27 44 534 8007
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The only Wine Estate Restaurant slap bang in the middle of The Garden Route! Enjoy an afternoon of local wines, cheeses, oysters, meats, pates and more all served with freshly baked homemade breads and polished off with a decadent dessert. Set in the vineyards and overlooking the Tsitsikamma mountains and The Elephant Sanctuary. This family run estate offers organoleptic fare for the entire family!
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 NEW

We called in here by chance after a busy day in Plett. Shown straight to a table outside amongst the vines. Waitress takes drink orders (house white is a treat). At your table there is a little card which you can tick off what you want to eat. Food is largely tapas style with the little card marked into sections such as breads, salads, seafood, meats. We went a little overboard, ignoring the suggested 3/4 between 2 and went for 6 as there was too many good things to try. Portions are large and we had to make a big effort to get through some of the dishes. Particular highlights were the bread with tapenade, the chilli prawns, pear & blue cheese salad.

We tried to walk off a little if our lunch with a lovely walk around the vineyard!
Will certainly be back next time we are in SA.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    109
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 NEW

What more can you ask for when you have good wine and good food to accompany the setting of the vineyards. We were there on a rainy day - so the only problem was that the restaurant got really loud, not sure how you can reduce the noise levels? The bread served with the tapas - oh wow!!! The staff are attentive, friendly and add to the special time spent there.

  • Visited May 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Tapas in the vines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

Ate here with some fellow guests who were staying at the guest house. We arrived about 3pm for a late lunch on a beautiful day and were directed to a table in the vineyard. It was truly a beautiful spot for lunch. They advised that they were quite busy and that things may take a while longer than normal due to a party arriving that was much larger than booked. We didn't mind we weren't in a hurry. They brought us a complimentary bottle of their sparkling Sauvignon Blanc as an apology, nice touch!
Lots of different tapas to choose from. They were all good and the bread is devine.
You can drink the estate's wine. My favourite was their Sauvignon Blanc.
A great 2.5 hour lunch in the vines. Do not miss if you are in Plettenberg Bay

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

This is the type of experience I get excited about. Here at Bramon, the natural beauty of this setting is celebrated through cleverly placing pristine white picnic style tables amongst the vines.

With tapas style dining, the food is as fresh and light as the ambience. With everything made lovingly in-house, the offerings delight in their simplicity.

A surreal yet simple experience that will linger in the mind along with the delicious Sauvignon Blanc bubbly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best tapas outside Barcelona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Had lunch here on a Sunday, recommend booking as it was fully booked. We had the best tapas we've had outside Barcelona and a yummy bottle of Sauvignon blanc to wash it down! Lovely setting among the vines

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bramon Wine Estate also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Bramon Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bramon Wine Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.