We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite stay of our trip!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amakaya Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amakaya Backpackers to your Saves list
Amakaya Backpackers
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favourite stay of our trip!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights and loved it so much we booked an extra two nights to stay!!! We had an amazing experience, Gerhandt and skye took great care of us, the nights were the best sat round the camp fire chilling and eating! They organized all our activities for us which made everything so easy. We are definitely going to be coming back here, purely for the greats nights with Gerhandt and Skye keeping us company and making our stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Matthew

Glad to hear that you both had such a good time in Plett.

Thanks for staying with us.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    28
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
32
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights there, and it was awesome! Amakaya is well located (a short walk to the main street and many sightseeings), the staff is helpful and provide lots of information about Plett and what to do in the city; they booked skydiving for us. The installations and the cabin we stayed were clean though very basic, the kitchen were pretty good equipped and there's a laundry area you can make use for free. Internet's only available in the living room though, and it's really slow. The best part of Amakaya was the atmosphere! Gerhardt, the manager is a extremely kind person, we had lots of good chatting around the fire and a braai in one of the nights, plus malva pudding :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello Danielle

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the activities that were recommended to you.

Please let us know what we can do to improve the following areas that you rated a 3 out of 5:
Value
Rooms
Service

This will be appreciated to enable us to improve the overall experience of our guests.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed in Amakaya for one night. On arrival the owner was immediately very friendly introducing himself. Nice clean rooms eventhough they are basic. Very friendly night staff and a great atmosphere around the camp fire at night! There is a bar in the hostel and they were very helpful in recommending places for food and drinks. There was free wireless where signal was strongest at the campfire and reception area. Very close to the town centre. Overall a great stay and I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The staff of this Backpackers were absolutely the most friendliest I have had during my trip! They helped me out with everything I wanted to know!. The room I stayed in was small but clean, also the bathroom was clean, 2 showers and 1 toilet for a 8 per. room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My son and I enjoyed our stay at Amakaya. We had booked in advance to stay at Albergo, but upon arrival were told that my son was not (like I had been told over the phone) allowed to stay in a dorm room. Amakaya was able to help us at the last minute over the Easter weekend and in contrast to Albergo, the owner and all the staff we came into contact with were nothing but courteous and helpful. The dorm we stayed in have its own bathroom and kitchen area, which I thought a splendid set-up. Amakaya has a very homey feel to it and would I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Plettenberg Bay. It's also walking distance to the main street, a bonus. And the dog is a sweetheart :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello Nadja

Glad that we could help you and you both enjoyed the stay with us.

Regards

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice Place! Very friendly staff, clean bed, what you want from a backpackers. Internet is free on a computer in the main loby (things from like 1995, but probably loads facebook like a champ) 20 rand for wireless ( USD $2.20 ). They don't have breakfast but will give you %10 off coupons for places you can get dinner and breakfast. Warning: if you order a "plain omelet" that's literally just a piece of folded over egg - don't know if that's a SA thing or what, but it's stupid.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakaya, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hello Aaron

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us.

The computer is new and was bought in October 2012. It has limited capabilities because it is only intended as one for our guests to use for internet access. The only other items on this computer are the pictures of various activities for guest information.

Sorry to hear about your bad omelette experience - please send me a mail with the name of the restaurant used and I will address it with them. Some restaurants have a basic omelette with cheese only. You then have the option to add extras etc.

Trust that you had a safe trip back to Cape Town.

Regards

Dave Swart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stopped off for one night at Amakaya Backpackers on our way along the garden route and we were welcomed by friendly staff and shown a bright clean and comfortable room. The atmosphere was relaxed and social and everyone we met was friendly, the staff encourage everyone to socialize by lighting a fire and doing a Braii. There are comfortable places to relax, the shared kitchen was clean and in good order. The only thing it was missing was breakfast in the morning but its so close to town it doesn't take long to find somewhere and the staff will happily recommend somewhere nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amakaya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakaya Backpackers

Address: 15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amakaya Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakaya Backpackers hostel & self-catering accommodation is 300 metres from the shops, restaurants, pubs, of Main Street Plettenberg Bay and 800m from the popular Central Beach.Our upstairs bar and open air veranda offers magnificent views of the Tsitsikamma mountain range, the lagoon and the bay. This is a great place to relax after a busy day’s activities or for the early risers to watch the sunrise. To keep yourself busy, visit our Adventure Centre where we will help arrange things to do, including tours to get you out and about in the Garden Route area. We will also arrange transport to these activities if you do not have your own. After dinner share your adventures around the bonfire with our other guests or just laze in the hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Amakaya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amakaya Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.