We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury,Luxury,Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbanks Luxury Retreat

Sandbanks Luxury Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandbanks Luxury Retreat
Save
You added Sandbanks Luxury Retreat to your Saves list
13 Bowtie Dr, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 78 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
N. Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Luxury,Luxury,Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed here on 30th oct, for only one night . Jana the manageress greeted us and informed us she had given us an upgrade to the penthouse suite. What a fabulous start and believe me it just got better and better. Sandbanks is simply stunning, the setting the house the hospitality. Jana was the perfect host she informed us all about the local area things to do and see and then also recommended restaurants. We chose the lookout restaurant and she was right to recommend it , a great meal was had. My only regret was not staying longer but we had other arrangements made. We will definitely return to sandbanks in the not to distant future. Its hard to imagine why it rates number 13 on TA because i just cant imagine any better. So if youre thinking about going please dont hesitate just go..
Thanks for everything Jana (and also Sheila who was also there) Hazel

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

This place was one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa. Set up on the hillside in Plettenberg Bay, it has a perfect view of the beach from the lovely terrace. The whole experience was fantastic. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with open arms by Jana and Hilda, who went out of their to way to help us make the most of our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were amazing. The guest house is only a year old and has been decked out beautifully - beautiful modern design, with all of the creature comforts you could hope for. The terrace area with small pool was lovely, although it wasn't quite warm enough to take a dip when we were there. I would highly recommend a stay at Sandbanks to anyone - especially for a romantic stay - and hope to be able to go back again sometime!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed at Sandbanks Luxury Retreat for three nights and it was just perfect. Double room with direct pool / terrasse access and the most beautiful view over the Plettenberg Bay Lagoon. All services in the B&B were just great, the breakfast, the cleaning team everything was just perfectly made to relax.
Plettenberg itself was a bit quite but we did daytrips along the cost, played golf and enjoyed the beaches.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in South Africa, where we were lucky to stay at some amazing hotels and guest houses. We ended the trip at Sandbanks Luxury Retreat and this was by far the most beautiful and relaxing.

This was our first time in Plettenberg Bay and Jana and Hilda, who worked at the guest house, went out of their way to make sure our time there was the best it could possibly be. They looked after us so well, making us feel completely at home and were always on hand to advise us the best places to go in the town. Every morning there were freshly made breakfasts waiting for us, including home-made muffins and pankcakes and wondeful fruit platters.

The guest house iteself is about a 10 minute walk from the town centre where there were a range of lovely restaurants and bars. Our favourites were Fushi, Miguels and Emily's is a must, although it is a short drive out of Plett.

For anyone looking for a relaxing holiday, with beautiful beaches, great food and wonderful service, you could not find a more perfect location than Plettenberg Bay, and without a doubt - Sandbanks guesthouse. I am looking forward to our return trip there next year already!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorking, surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

I stayed at sandbanks with my wife and daughter in mid
november 2008, The weather unfortunately was not good
it rained for the 3 days of our stay.
Sandbanks is a beautiful guest house, very modern decor
with fantastic views across the bay,
My wife and i stayed in the lagoon suite, my daughter stayed in one of the garden rooms perfect for our requirements,
all the bedrooms are off the communial lounge and kitchen area were a very nice continental breakfast is served by Jana and Hilda (Fresh pancakes and muffins, fresh juices, hams , cheese etc) when the weather is good breakfast can be taken on the sundeck overlooking the the rim flow pool .
Jana was a very good host, recommending restaurants, activities etc, ((try the Italian frank D and Fushi both very good)
Sandbanks is 5mins from the centre of Plett
I would recommend this B+B Loved IT!!!

  • Liked — Decor and the views
  • Disliked — sharing the lounge
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandbanks Luxury Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbanks Luxury Retreat

Address: 13 Bowtie Dr, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary 4 star guest house with magnificent views overlooking the lagoon, sea & mountains. Spacious & stylish rooms each with wonderful views have direct access to the superb deck with rim-flow pool. Each has minibar, linen gowns, hairdryers and tea trays. Crisp white linen, WIFI, Satellite TV and fireplaces. Friendly and attentive staff ensure true relaxation. Delicious leisurely breakfast while watching the whales from your balcony in season. Blue flag beaches, golf courses, famous nature walks, boutique shops and gourmet restaurants are minutes away. Secure parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbanks Luxury Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.