We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halcyon House

Save Saved
You added Halcyon House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halcyon House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   30 Rattray Head Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 73 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved both the house and Plettenberg. We lucked out, in that the owners put us in the Kingfisher suite, which is quite something (decadent bathroom for example), with a great early morning view. Owners were great, Staff were great. As for location, you need a navigation device to find it.

Room Tip: Get the Kingfisher suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I spent only one night at Halcyon House, far too short a stay for such a wonderful venue. Caroline ensured we were well catered for and looked after in her magnificent home. And we emphasise "home". All amenities were excellent. At the time of our stay Plett Bay suffered a power outage but this this did not stop Caroline from preparing an amazing "English" breakfast. We certainly recommend this venue to other travellers with a high expectation of venue, service and hospitality.

Brenda and John

Room Tip: Kingfisher suite has fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was lucky enough to spend one night on route to a wedding at halcyon house. The service was phenomenal and I I truly can't wait to go back for a more leisurely stay to spend time in the kingfisher rooms jacuzzi bath or have a lazy breakfast next to the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in February this year at this lovely family home,and from the start after a long drive from Cape Town we were welcomed very warmly and made to feel at home within minutes of arrival.We stayed in the Nautilus Rooms Suite,very comfortable and quiet with a small balcony from where you had glimpses of the sea which was only a few minutes walk away.Breakfasts every morning were excellent and a very good spread and choice,in a lovely setting alongside a small plunge/swimming pool and the owner Judy and her staff were always around to chat and advise on places to visit etc.
Another nice touch was the coffee and tea(all types of tea),facilities left outside the suite on the landing together with every night glasses and a bottle of liquer of different sorts...all on the house!

During our month in South Africa we stayed in a few guest houses,all very good and booked after looking myself on trip advisor before going,however this one was by far the best and we will hopefully return one day in the future...it advertises as a 4 star,it really should be 5 star as in these ratings.Judy thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were extremely comfortable in the Kingfisher suite, within earshot of the sea. Our family occupied the other 2 suites on the top floor, allowing us total privacy. The breakfasts were always different with plenty of selection and fresh fruit, served downstairs in the sunny terrace overlooking the pool, or in the elegant open-plan dining room. Judy and Caroline are very hospitable hosts and the other staff were quietly in attendance. Comfortable king-size bed, plenty of cupboards, self-service tea, coffee and biscuits in ante-room, books to read, big, comfortable bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and shower for 2! Within walking distance to the beach and swimming area. We left after a relaxing stay of 4 days and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher suite is unsurpassed for value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Simply the best guest house I ever stayed in and I stayed in some quite amazing ones in the USA. I was in the Kingfisher Suite. It's huge and luxurous and has a wonderful view. Breakfast was delicious and the selection great with differences from the one day to the other. Also you get a very personal experience. On my first day Caroline would drive me to a country market where I spent an hour before she picked me up on her way back. What a great service! Also the rest of the house is wonderful and very spacious. Don't miss Halcyon House if you travel to Plettenberg Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and loved it. The room, Kingfisher suite, was wonderful 4 double wardrobes, large bathroom with double showers and fold back doors in the bedroom to give a sea view (just). The people who looked after us could not have been nicer, or more helpful. All though slightly outside Plett, but 2 mins from the beach, taxi to town was only £4 ish so not a problem. Special thanks to Charles for his humour and helpful information on what to do and where to go, also lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: The Kingfisher suite is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halcyon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon House

Address: 30 Rattray Head Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halcyon House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Halcyon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halcyon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.