We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodbury Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Woodbury Lodge to your Saves list
Woodbury Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Amakhala Game Reserve, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Woodbury Lodge is fantastically situated on an escarpment overlooking a plain from where you can spot giraffe whilst you read your book on your own private deck. It is easily accessible from the N2 but once there you are in another world, peaceful and tranquil with every need met from the friendly and professional staff. The bedrooms have the most incredible views - from your bed or bath, plus are well equipped with underfloor heating in the bathroom and a cosy electric blanket turned on when you return from dinner in the evening. We had a wonderful ranger, Kyle, whose knowledge and enthusiasm for the reserve were evident in the excellent drives and river cruise we had with him.

Room Tip: We were in zebra which was lovely and private with phenomenal views. There is a separate twin sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
62
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We came to Woodbury Lodge as part of our honeymoon. From the moment we got there we were treated brilliantly (starting with a welcome cocktail on arrival!). The rooms (lodges) are big and roomy and have a seating area and balcony, a large separate bedroom and a very big bathroom which had underfloor heating. It was winter when we were there and our room was equipped with extra bedding and an electric blanket (although we didn't need this). The food was amazing and they would cater for specific requests if needed, there was also plenty of it, you definitely won't go hungry! Now the game drives, our guide Justin was amazing, he could see things from miles away and was excellent at spotting the animals, we were lucky enough to see most things when we were there and got extremely close to some cheetahs which was a fabulous experience, we even managed to see some porcupines at night time on the way back from one of the evening game drives. You get 2 drives per day and while out, you are offered a good selection of snacks and drinks all in fabulous surroundings with breath taking views! If I have the chance to go again would be back in a shot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The game reserve and its bungalows are really beautiful. We spent 3 nights there and fully enjoyed the place. The bungalows are clean and comfortable, well maintained and beautifully decorated. The common areas are absolutely nice and the terrace gives a great view on the surrounding area. There’s a huge variety of animal species and numbers are kept low; this may decrease the number of encounters but keep the animals and the environment in a much better shape. Game drives are very beautiful, not only for the environment – with forest, open areas, bush, a river – but also for the rangers who are competent and enthusiastic and will do their best to make every drive a memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranves-Sales, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 3 days on Amakhala Game Reserve staying at Woodbury Lodge and it was an amazing experience. If you want to experience a safari and would like to live in relative luxury this is definitely for you. The rooms were very comfortable, beautifully decorated and with heated floors (we were there in winter so this was important). The view from the bath (yes the bath) was of zebras grazing on the Reserve. The rooms are thatched stone lodges with wooden decks complete with chairs and sunloungers. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are provided to the highest standard with all drinks included. I said that it was like having an amazing meal interspersed with game drives. We ate and drank like kings. The service was outstanding. My husband has some dietry constraints and all were thoughtfully handled. The game rangers were hugely knowledgable. We did game drives early morning and afternoon. We were taken out in Land Rovers with sun shades, we had blankets for the cold (it was very cold when the sun was down) and given drinks and nibbles during the drives looking at the most spectacular views. We saw so many animals - all of the Big 5 (not leopard but cheetah) in the 3 days. Each evening a big fire was lit and you could sit round (on chairs) and have drinks, view the stars and reflect on the wonderful day. Everyone was incredibly helpful and each evening either one of the rangers or one of the owners had dinner with us answering all of our many questions. This experience really could not have been bettered.

Room Tip: From what I could see all the rooms had the same set up. We were right at the top of the Lodge so h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We came to Amakhala with my two children (7 and 8) and my husband's parents. Our immediate family was lodged in one of the family lodges, which had a king sized bed in one room and a partially separated rooms with two twin beds for the kids. The little lodge was really nice, with a wrap around covered porch and a view of the animals. The bathroom was beautiful with a heated floor, shower and separate tub with a picturesque view.
The food was a nice variety and nicely presented. For my kids they offered special options, and there was a vegan guest at the lodge who they appeared to accommodate very nicely.
The drinks and wireless internet were all included, so we had no unexpected expenses.
Our guide, James, was excellent, and found all of the animals and special encounters that we could have hoped for. Even when we got in a bit of a bind (the vehicle broke down) he was able to quickly get someone to meet us with another vehicle and have us on our way with no down time.
The staff were all very pleasant and each dinner we were hosted by either a guide or an owner.
It was cold in the mornings and evenings since we traveled in August (their winter) but they were good about having blankets on the vehicle, heated blankets on the beds as well as wall heat units, heated floors in the bathroom, and a fire and hot chocolate to greet us when we returned from the drives.
I would highly recommend this lodge for couples or families with children 6+. The drives might be a little rough for smaller children.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had an absolutely fantastic stay here in very comfortable, clean and spacious accommodation.There are incredible views from all rooms and their verandahs from where it is possible to see a great deal of wildlife. All the staff without exception were so friendly and helpful. The food was of an excellent quality and there was plenty of it. Free drinks are included and there is a free bar and a great choice of wines. We were incredibly well looked after. The whole experience was very personal and tailored to our exact needs with two game drives each day. James, our very friendly driver, was informative without going over the top and incredibly helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were in a party of four and had mostly had the place to ourselves. As we drove up to the lodge we saw elephants, rhino and wort hogs-what a reception! It was an unforgettable experience seeing giraffes, elephants, buffalo, cheetahs etc. at close quarters one which would all love to repeat.

Room Tip: The elephant room has uninterrupted views and is on a fairly level walk close to the lounge and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

do not hesitate to stay at the woodbury lodge
we stayed there in april and despite some unseasonably cold wet weather we had a wonderful stay.
from the moment we drove through the gates and were greeted by rhinos, elephants and zebras (before we even got to the lodge itself) to the moment we had to leave we were thrilled.
this was the best place we stayed at in our 3 weeks in south africa.
the lodges are really comfortable and spacious with awesome views - yes we did see giraffe, warthogs, kudu, zebras and other wildlife from our terrace!
the staff are very friendly and helpful. the food is fantastic. ALL DRINKS are included including the serve yourself bar.
lots of wildlife to see within a fairly short drive - excellent guide/driver - great fun.
there are 2 game drives each day and we also did a boat trip on the river - all included!
we were bowled over by the whole experience - cannot recommend it highly enough - go there!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic - very private with amazing views - we stayed in elephant and zebra lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbury Lodge

Address: Amakhala Game Reserve, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star rated Woodbury Lodge is spectacularly set against a cliff above the Bushmans River valley in the Amahkala Game Reserve.. It offers an intimate and tranquil experience of the Eastern Cape riverine bushveld at its best. It is the ideal place for families to relax and enjoy the bush together.Guests are often thrilled by the late afternoon sighting of elephants passing by.All rooms have private decks and large bathrooms with a view over the plains. Child minding facilities available.A range of game viewing and other activities such as the river cruise and bush walks are on offer, or you could just recline around the communal swimming pool and enjoy some sun while the birds keep you company. Unfortunately No under 6 years are permitted on game drives. Rooms:Guests are accommodated in 6 comfortably appointed stone–and–thatch sleeping lodges, each with air–conditioning and en–suite bathroom, including 2 family suites. The seclusion of the lodges and the design of the bathrooms and individual outdoor relaxation areas enable our visitors to enjoy the unique and breathtaking views at their leisure.Location:Take the N2 from Port Elizabeth to Grahamstown. Approximately 70 kilometres, cross the Bushmans River and turn right at the Woodbury Lodge signposted entrance. Continue through the Reserve, following the signs to Woodbury Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Woodbury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amakhala Woodbury Hotel Grahamstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodbury Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.