We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Stone's Hill, Route 67, Port Alfred Road, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sundown @ 30 on Oatlands
Ranked #3 of 34 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Room is spacious and tidy,very nicely decorated
kitchen facilitiy filly equiped
great lacotion
great service and friendly

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccsw, Owner at A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Juan, thank you for your feed-back it is always a pleasure to have you come and stay and you are always welcome and we look forward to many more visits from you (and I hope your wife and son can come too sometime) in the future. Best Eastern Cape Greetings Suzanne and The Team, including Oscar and Tuli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
6
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I recently visited for 5 nights with my younger daughter, while my older child attended the National Schools Festival in Grahamstown.

Plus: Welcoming host and friendly staff (and dogs), beautiful garden setting with fantastic views from the stoep of our log cabin, lovely beds with crisp white linen and electric blankets, fluffy towels, easy and secure parking.

Minus: Not really the best option for an extended self-catering stay (although to be fair, we were warned in advance that the unit only contained a small kitchenette). Also, being a very light sleeper was a bit of an issue, with noisy dogs and roosters in the middle of the night, trucks passing on the R62 just behind the cabin and wooden boards creaking whenever my daughter moved in her bed upstairs. She had no such problems and slept like a log.

We would certainly consider staying here again in the future, but would rather make use of the bed and breakfast option then visit on a self-catering basis.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccsw, Owner at A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Sylvia, A special thank you for your feed-back on your visit to us at A Stone's Throw, I am thrilled about the positives and do value the "minus" feed-back on your stay with us which is invaluable in our endeavours to provide a wonderful warm and spectacular visit to our lovely setting on the hill. We do hope to see you again in the future and it would only be a pleasure to let you have complimentary breakfasts during your visit, served "butlers-style" by Edith and Zoleka with their true Eastern Cape traditional hospitality smiles and charisma. A note that the traffic may have been higher than normal because there was blasting on the N2 route between Port Elizabeth and East London which would have diverted along the R67 to the R72, resulting in more than usual traffic flow through our normally sleepy suburb. Yours in hospitality, Suzanne and A Stone's Throw team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

This is a wonderful place, neat, clean and affordable. Chalets are very well maintained and have well equipped kitchen. We arrived in the evening after whole day of driving in the rain - our chalet had heating on to welcome us, and the owner called a couple of time to check if everything was fine. Chalets are in a lush garden, they are well spaced and there is plenty parking space. Compared to prevous accommodation this was like being in heaven! A bit out of town, but pefrect if you want to relax in a cosy, homely and friendly place.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccsw, Owner at A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive and informative feed-back on A Stone's Throw. Wow and the rain just hasn't stopped even since January, we have thick mist again this morning - can't even see the mountain in front of the cabin, I am sure in England that's a "peasouper", we always look forward to having our visitors again and hope to hear from you again in the near future. Best Regards Suzanne, and the Team (Zoleka and Edith).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed with Suzanne and her team for nearly two weeks and it was like a home from home. Zoleke and Edith looked after me with that warm South African hospitality I have come to expect. I learned several new Xhosa phrases too. I loved my Rondavel room, my breakfast companions wild or otherwise! Expect sweeping views, Hornbills, Hahdedahs and Sunbirds. I hope I get there again some day.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccsw, Owner at A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Thanks Mark, happy holidays to you and your family, hope the big UK freeze not affecting anyone too much, gorgeous summer storms in Grahamstown - regards suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Excellent rooms with a beautiful view of a well taken care of garden. Situated in a very neat and quiet neighbourhood. Great and kind service from the staff, what more can one ask for?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Stone's Throw B&B on our way from Cinsa to Plettenburg, and found it a relaxing, wonderful place to stay. The view from the house overlooks nearby mountains and is beautiful. It is located in Stone Hill, which is a three minute drive just outside Grahamstown. It is by far the most fetching looking B&B that we say in the entire area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

My mom and I travelled from Johannesburg via Durban to Grahamstown along the wild coast. The last time a travelled through this majestic part of our country was when I was still a child on a road trip with my parents and it was this memory of rondawel houses on hilly plains that i yearned to see again. The trip was amazing and A stone's throw proved to be a perfect point to relax and recover from a day of taking in these beautiful sites. We intended to leave early the next day to stop over at Sedgefield before ending out trip in Cape Town. What initially seemed to be an unfortunate experience of leaving my laptop behind at the guest house and only realising this after travelling more than 300km, we returned to the guest house and decided to stay another night. Suzanne was so accommodating and the whole unfortunate experience was a blessing in disguise and we managed to spend a few more hours of bliss at this amazing location. I would recommend staying at this B&B any day.

Lorenzo

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9 Stone's Hill, Route 67, Port Alfred Road, Grahamstown 6140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Grahamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast is nestled on the hilltops above Grahamstown. Offering country living "A Stone's Throw" from the University town of Grahamstown, where you can enjoy panoramic vistas and witness gorgeous sunsets from a spacious garden setting which is surrounded by open countryside. A Stone's Throw is situated as an ideal stopover between the Garden Route and KwaZulu Natal, just 2km's off the N2, outside Grahamstown, home to the National Arts Festival and City of Saints and Scholars, a seven minute drive into the city centre of Makana Grahamstown. The beaches of Kenton-on-Sea, Kasouga, and Port Alfred are nearby and the Great Fish River Reserves, Addo Elephant Park and Port Elizabeth are just over one hour away. A Stone's Throw's welcoming ambience ensures you a memorable stay. Wake up to Spectacular views. Enjoy sunsets and watching a variety of indigenous bird life, star-gazing, soaking up the sunshine with a book or taking an energetic hike up to the Toposcope, (This building, erected by the Grahamstown Trust in 1997/98, shows the direction of many towns and sites of this Eastern Cape region). Due to renovations we also have available accommodation option at 30 on Oatlands Road which is centrally situated in the Oak-tree lined suburb of Oatlands. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Stone's Throw Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.