We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BETTER WITH A BUZZ!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Hemingways

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Hemingways to your Saves list
Southern Sun Hemingways
Cnr Western Avenue and Two Rivers Drive | Vincent, East London 5200, South Africa (Formerly Hemingways Hotel - East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in East London
Whittlesea, South Africa
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“BETTER WITH A BUZZ!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hemingways Hotel has been our "home away from home" for years. We've been there through thick and thin, in sickness and in health, for better or worse, and nearly till death did we part. We've been through multiple changes of staff and the past renovation that had the place in a tip. We keep going back and recently staged our reunion (husband and wife) when Janet returned from a five and a half month visit to the USA. Now Hemingways has a "buzz" to go with a lovely facility. The new MD (Madeleine) is visible, personable, and hands on. James has added new Food & Beverage events and options which make the hotel life more attractive. Opening "Felix" bar in an unused but special corner is a great addition. Some of the "old" family are still there with Vusumzi tending to personal needs beyond the call of duty. Of course at the top of old family is Assistant MD (Liz) whose blessings cannot be measured. I'm sure as soon as Tripadvisor's time limit allows I'll have another glowing review of Hemingways! We'll certainly be back. Thank you Hemingways family...we love the buzz!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Sir,

Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s):

*Respectful of Personal Privacy
No speculation as to the identity of the reviewer. Personal information of any person, including names, addresses, phone numbers or other information that may be used to identify an individual is prohibited.

Please consider resubmitting a response which meets our posting criteria using the management response form on our site.

Please let us know if you have further concerns.

Best regards,
TripAdvisor Support Team
[302]




---original management response-----

Subject: Southern Sun Hemingways
Location: East London
Title: Owner response
ID#: 200177616

Dear Mr. Vehorn,

Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor.
Your kind comments humble us. Liz is indeed an asset to our establishment and has extensive knowledge of our regular guests. Her passion and caring nature for our guests never runs out.

James is very excited and very busy with all his developments in the Food and Beverage outlets, and I am sure that you will enjoy the new look of Felix Restaurant when you next return. The new sports bar will also add value to our guests who prefer a more relaxed atmosphere to socialise in.

It was wonderful to have you spend Earth Hour with us in the restaurant, and then to meet your lovely wife in the morning was an honour.

Thank you for making Hemingways your hotel of choice when you travel to South Africa and we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    21
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
18
2
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

From the process of reservation to checking out the staff were very helpful. Reservation made sure I get the room to my desire. Nice to see a nifty bar fridge in the room, especially with kids it help

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz R, Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mohammed
Thank you for posting your positive review on TripAdvisor. Sibongile our reservations agent is truly a gem and she always strives to offer the best service she can to the guest she hardly gets to meet.
Your kind words humble us and we thank you for choosing to spend your time with your family with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Hemingways.
Kind regards
Liz
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

My first stay at Hemingways. Hotel refurbished in the last two years. Bedrooms very small but well appointed. Quality finishes, linen and bedding. Bathroom small, water pressure weak but well appointed and more than adequate. Breakfast good and given proximity to Mall, a variety of dining and entertainment options. Staff friendly but front desk could improve.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Hemingways Hotel. We appreciate the feedback and have already started a drive with the front desk staff. Behavioural changes unfortunately do take time, and we will continue to work on it.

Thank you for patronage and we hope that we will remain to be your hotel of choice when you next travel to East London.

Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The staff is extremely friendly and professional. The hotel meets all business expectations and needs and is located right next a mall so very convenient. Rooms are a bit on the small side for my liking but do work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It is fantastic for us to see that our local residents are making use of our establishment.

We would like this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and to remind you to stay tuned to the local media for special hotel offers such as romantic packages, show and stay packages, date night and Earth Hour taking place on Friday the 28th of March.

Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed overnight as was visiting family.
Great little room and staff was average. The toilet was noisy, but not excessively. Easy access to the mall was great. However, the one major concern was the fact that the passage outside our room led to the casino and mall and thus was noisy at all times of the day/night

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear world traveller,

We do apologise for the noise factor you experienced during your stay. It is a pity that we were not aware of it during your stay as we would have offered to move you to the new section of the hotel which is on the opposite side of the casino and shopping mall.

We trust that you and your family had a memorable reunion with your family and look forward to being your hotel of choice when you next return to East London.

Kind regards
Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is neat and trendy; the rooms were comfortable and amenities satisfactory. However , the staff left much to be desired. No smiles, no morning greetings, difficulty understanding English and general zombie like behavior was most distasteful. The manageress was a beautiful, friendly hostess however so it's a shame her cheery disposition didn't rub off on the staff. My battered calamari was disgusting - old salty, underdone and unappetizing to look at. The highlight was breakfast - smoked salmon, cream cheese and dill; eggs in any way you like done to perfection; cereals ; an array of condiments ; juices; sausages, mushrooms, cheese, fish, potatoes , bacon and flaky crossiants and pastries were truly a treat.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear local traveller,

We appreciate your constructive feedback you have offered to us and other travellers. As the new General Manager of Hemingways, I have identified certain areas of improvement, and would be really pleased to inform you that I have finally rubbed off on some of the staff.

Being in hospitality one must have a passion for what we do, and that comes with the confidence of knowing we make a difference in people’s lives, and most importantly when they come and stay with us. It is a pity that staff in general never realise the impact that they have on others and how important they are, and by re-iterating your comments, this has most certainly sparked a new life into them.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and ask that you stay tuned the local media for special hotel offers such as romantic packages, show and stay packages, date night and Earth Hour taking place on Friday the 28th of March.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I like the old rooms, they're comfortable and the ambience is excellent. I don't like the new rooms, they are dreadful in terms the beds, bathroom rooms - low pressure in showers, dreadfully noisy when it's windy, broken couches.
Otherwise the hotel is generally great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear X,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are very concerned to hear about the experience you had in the new rooms, and even more disturbed that we were not aware of this and not afforded the opportunity to correct this for you. A future travel tip – where ever you travel, please contact the reception desk, staff are always willing to assist.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and ask that you stay tuned the local media for special hotel offers such as romantic packages, show and stay packages, date night and Earth Hour taking place on Friday the 28th of March.

Kind regards

Madeleine Roux | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Hemingways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hemingways

Address: Cnr Western Avenue and Two Rivers Drive | Vincent, East London 5200, South Africa (Formerly Hemingways Hotel - East London)
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East London is one of South Africa’s best kept secrets with a multitude of attractions but still maintaining that small town feel. The Hemingways Hotel is situated adjacent to the Hemingways Casino and Hemingways mall. It affords easy access to all the major highways, national roads and the airport. Inspired by Ernest Hemingway, this sub-tropical styled hotel offers a unique island lifestyle break, right in the heart of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Hemingways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Hemingways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.