We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toast Deli

Toast Deli
3 Frere Road | Vincent, East London, South Africa
0437213052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 68 Restaurants in East London
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

First visit to Toast Deli. It very definitely caters to a defined market segment - the health conscious and those interested in not getting heavier.
The smiles from the staff were warm and welcoming. The food was just as described - and cooked as we ordered it to be. I was impressed that the poached eggs were actually poached, not streamed. But they and the mushrooms underneath them could have been better drained. The portions are not ungenerous. The accompanying salad was lovely. Impressed by the coffee.
Don't forget to visit the organic deli on your way out. Lots of goodies that you don't really 'need', but desperately 'want'.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Convenient location for casual meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We visited Toast twice while in East London to attend the SA schools polo tournament. On both occasions the restaurant was packed full of visitors. Service was not great but the staff were new and unaccustomed to the volumes they needed to deal with. The food was good and the atmosphere lively and welcoming. Definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a snack & chat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We went to Toast twice while we were in East London at an event being held at the Joan Harrison Aquatic Centre.
The first time was for coffee & a snack and the restaurant was jam-packed. My friends all received their drinks fairly swiftly, but I had to remind the waitress twice for my coffee. The snacks were delicious and all-in-all, we had a wonderful time.
The second time was for a group supper and we had a table of about 24 people. The owner was very accommodating and arranged the tables in one group so we could all be together. The service was excellent and the waitress coped extremely well with people arriving at different times. The food was delicious - especially the chicken wrap, burgers & salads.

Overall, we had two very good experiences at the restaurant. It will be a very popular place, I'm sure, for people dropping their children off at Selborne School and for any people attending events in the area. There is an outdoor and an indoor sitting area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Poor service even for a takeaway”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My takeaway muffin order took over an hour to arrive even after had to call them. No apology and they would not refund me as it was already paid for. To make matters worse this was also after I had paid for a sweet muffin, later got told they only had savory muffins as they were out of stock! Seemed like baking for the day was not on anyone's diary!so I ordered the only alternative which seemed to been in stick then, which ended up being totally forgotten by the kitchen. The service is completely unprofessional and unapologetic. They will never see me again and I will never recommend them to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good place to grab a bite to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is the perfect little place to stop for a quick cuppa or even a business meeting. Conveniently located opposite Selborne School makes Toast Deli quite popular. Be sure to plan around school times to get a table. The Delhi has a warm atmosphere, very relaxing and friendly. The food was great and so was the service. The little boutique shop has some interesting items and clothing for sale. Well worth he visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast Deli also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Toast Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toast Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.