We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food-pathetic service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Neo

Cafe Neo
128 Moore Street Quigney | 5211 East London, East London, South Africa
+27 43 722 4531
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 76 Restaurants in East London
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pizza, Seafood, Mediterranean, Hamburgers, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cafe Neo offers great meals at affordable prices including cocktails made from the finest ingredients available on the present market. We also pride ourselves on our Service,Café Neo offers you an unbeatable dining experience featuring a relaxing atmosphere with breathtaking ocean views. Enjoy a delicious breakfast or a tranquil, café-style lunch or dinner. Or if it just a relaxing sundowner.Come on in and enjoy one of our famous Cocktails. Why don’t you give us a try and tell us what you think.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food-pathetic service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Waited 30min for a breakfast order.

Food was exellent but service apaulling. Great atmosphere, stunning views and great setting.

Hopefully they can sort their service out.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious cocktails!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Lovely place! Good food, good views. I am happy to recommend the pizzas as they were really good! The calamari is the best in East London!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sundowners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very nice place for lunch or friday afternoon sundowners, they have a variety of nice cocktails, reasonably priced as well.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We took two guests to Café Neo. I was too polite to ask what they thought of the food, but my wife and I were mostly underwhelmed.

The premises, atop the well known Windmill fast food outlet, is clean with a family eatery atmosphere for patrons who want more than the toasted sandwiches and chips available from the kitchen below.

The service was average but could not provide a Hunters beverage requested by one of our guests. As this was not an out of the ordinary drink order, we felt this was a blot on the copybook.

My wife had a curry and she felt it was satisfactory. While she had no complaints, there was nothing 'wow' about the meal.

With the run-of-the-mill menu offerings, I resorted to their burger - a spartan offering with a less than memorable (mass produced) patty. This compressed disc of beef blandness suggested mechanically reclaimed meat and wasn't a patch on burgers we devoured in the tiny town of Rhodes two weeks later.

Would I go back? Only to be polite to guests.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the better restaurants in East London”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have twice eaten at the restaurant and each time the food and service were fine. Not quite good enough for 4 stars but perfectly acceptable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Neo also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Cafe Neo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Neo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.