We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Italianissimo - CLOSED

Italianissimo
8 Chamberlain Road | Berea, East London, South Africa
011 27 72 356 2760
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
East London, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“FABULOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Italianissimo has a homely feeling. The food absolutely delicious tastes like mum has prepared!!! The service fantastic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dissapointing visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I visited the restaurant and were disappointed. There were only 2 waiters on duty. They ran out of ingredients to make certain cocktails. We waited about 45 minutes for a drink!!

I ordered the meatballs, but found that they were minute pieces of sausage!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
“Shocking food at a night club fronted as a restuarant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Really bad food was had by 12 out of 14 at our table, the other 2 were below average. Most couldnt stomach the food. Steak was tough and not 1 steak cooked how asked for. Seafood had bones and sand. All this time the resurant was being coverted into a nights club, i.e. speakers moved in, tables being moved around us and yes there were a few under age girls sitting in the bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Is it a nightclub or a restaurant?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I had heard about this new Italian restaurant and we decided to go give it a try. We were bitterly disappointed to say the least. We didn't even make it as far as our table! We were greeted at the door by two very rude "bouncers"?? What on earth they were needed for we will never know. Once inside the decor, although very modern and clean, seemed lifeless and cold much like the staff. The place was filled to the brim with under age children, drinking, swearing and music so loud we couldn't hear ourselves think.

Please. If you want to be a restaurant, be a restaurant. If you want to be a nightclub, be a nightclub. And please, train your staff properly and lose the bouncers.

Terrible. Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great Italian food, with a relaxing environment and friendly waiters that recommended a good meal to me and my fiancée. Definitely one of the best in SA, to be recommended to every one, love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italianissimo also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italianissimo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.