We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, Ambiance Needs Work!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Two Dogs Bistro and Wine Bar

Two Dogs Bistro and Wine Bar
A14 Beacon Bay Crossing | Bonza Bay Road, East London, South Africa
+27(87)3504382
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 68 Restaurants in East London
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bistro, Wine Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chintsa, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Ambiance Needs Work!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I really wanted to be able to give this restaurant 5/5 because the food really was excellent. I had the tempura prawn and fish cake starter and the pork belly for main and both were excellent. Wine selection was also fab. The waiting staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

There were several things that put me off the restaurant slightly though - we chose a table at the back of the restaurant near the kitchen. When we first arrived the extractor fan seemed so loud it was really off putting (although I got used to the noise as the evening went on!). Also - the chef (and owner?) spent most of the evening shouting at swearing at his staff who seemed terrified of him and we were seated right in the firing line.

I will definitely go again as the food was so good but I'll choose a table near the front of the restaurant to avoid being caught up in in-house tension...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food on small menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Small kitchen area and personal supervision by Chefs - they know food! In my opinion - this is the only place to eat in East London.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best fillet steak by far!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great intimate place, a rather small restaurant with attention to details and great waitrons. They make the best fillet steak I've ever had. I highly recommend them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality food at good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Ollie and his staff plate very good quality, made on the day, tasty and well composed dishes. By far, I mean miles away, the best food in town and not as expensive as the one patronized by many in East London. A small and changing menu, always a delight.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxed dinner at a nice slow pace with great food this is the place for you. The serve was great,attentive when needed but not overly so and the food was particularly good, especially the biltong carpaccio which was sublime. The wine selection is also very good but we very much enjoyed the house Merlot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Dogs Bistro and Wine Bar also viewed

East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 
East London, Eastern Cape
East London, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Two Dogs Bistro and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Dogs Bistro and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.