We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Areena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Areena Riverside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Areena Riverside Resort to your Saves list
Areena Riverside Resort
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Farm 694 Portion 7 | East Coast Resorts Road, East London 5259, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
East London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My stay at Areena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We found exactly what we were looking for,a quiet,peaceful getaway.We needed to reconnect and the weekend spent there gave us just that.Their units are neat,the bar ladies are friendly and the food was good.I guess that's why we went there for the 2nd time.I would recommend the place to anybody who wants to get away from the busy lifestyle that we lead these days,it definately is the place to chilland just relax.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review!! We hope you will be visiting us again soon! We now also have a spa running were you can receive some pampering, to ensure top relaxation! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and received the rest you deserved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We did our second trip to Areena in Feruary 2012. Our reception was the only blight on our trip as we arrived late and were met by a rather grumpy male moaning that we did not inform them of our late arrival time. The stay was pleaseant and we did the 4 wheel trip again as we enjoyed it thoroughly the first time as well.We made use of the restaurant facility and the service was commendable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. Our office hours are from 8 - 5, and since our staff do not live here we do require guests to inform us of late arrivals, as there often is no one here after that time. We hope that you will visit us again soon and that it will be a much better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The resort is beautiful and tranquil! We stayed in the timber houses on the water's edge and thorougly enjoyed it every single day and the Fish Eagle's call made it that bit extra every day!The houses are beautifully decorated inside and out, wish I could be there right now............

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the delightful words! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely compliment on our units, they were decorated with much love and care! We look forward to having you here again, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place definatly wanne go again. Love the animals very clean and private to. And tranquil. Home away from home
would wanne take my family from cape town there should they come visit december or so.p.s. Not sure of the month

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you so much! We would be delighted to have you and your family here for a visit again! You can now relax and get a pampering too in our Spa! Hope to have you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed for two nights at Areena in January. It was just after the peak of the tourist season so it was very quiet. The cabins by the river are beautiful and well maintained. The staff were very friendly. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a stunning review! We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! We hope to have you here again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a fun filled action holiday in the caravan park, it is really well suited for families, it was secure, lots to do, lovely animals, very clean good facilities, the staff were fantastic, we did quad bikes, zip lines, archery, paint ball, canoeing, built rafts, the children 9, 11, 15, 16, 23X2 and us oldies were all very pleased. The staff put on pool fights, activities in the park and did I mention the water obsicle course?, I could go on and on

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the amazing review!! We are so very delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us!!! It is wonderful to hear that you made use off all the activities we had on offer and all enjoyed it so much! We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The camping sites were not well marked and not prepared when we arrived. You need to get rid of those awful ostriches which foul the place. Your 4-star rating is generous. You should be a 3-star resort and you may struggle to keep it there if you continue to slide as it seems you are. How can you have a pool area with a broken gate which any small child could get through? No attention to detail, no-one enquiring as to how you are enjoying your stay, and a generally scruffy resort to which I will not return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AreenaResort, Public Relations Manager at Areena Riverside Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at all. We were unaware of the broken gate, we can assure you it is in good working order. Also you would be pleased to know that all our campsites are clearly marked and that we have no further complaints regarding the matter. Our self-catering accommodation is rated 4 star, not the camping site. We will however be looking in to the matter of the unfriendly staff you dealt with. We apologize for your terrible experience and can assure you we are doing our best to ensure it does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Areena Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areena Riverside Resort

Address: Farm 694 Portion 7 | East Coast Resorts Road, East London 5259, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Areena Riverside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 23 kilometers east of the East London city centre Areena Riverside Resort has become a sought after holiday and corporate destination.Nestled on the banks of the Kwelera tidal river, is the Eastern Cape's best kept secrect. Areena offers everything from well grassed camping sites, self-catering accommodation, adventure village and game reserve, conference facilities, to an upmarket family style restaurant and pub.Areena is the perfect place for fairy tale weddings, conferencing, corporate teambuilding and school and church camps.At Areena, there is always something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Areena Riverside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Areena Riverside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.