We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heavenly forest in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Loerie Hide

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Loerie Hide
Save
You added The Loerie Hide to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2B Sheerness Road | Bonnie Doon, East London, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 115 East London B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little slice of heavenly forest in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay was amazing and Sue was a wonderful hostess.. she kindly drove us to the airport for our rental car for a third of the price a taxi would have cost us, despite having an appointment earlier that morning.The grounds literally are a small slice of heaven and the thatched cottages impeccably decorated... Sue herself an artist. We heard the shy Loerie bird every morning but unfortunately weren't able to capture it on film- but not to worry, that will give us something to come back for! Recommendations for dinner were perfect and though we were up in the hills, not too far of a drive. Breakfast was taken in the dining room opening up to the the wonderful 3rd floor deck and the forest view. All in all a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
27
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in the Safari room. A lovely thatch roof hut which was very spacious. A full English breakfast was served each day. The staff were very polite and helpful. Only criticism was that some small gecko poos were found on the floor and bed cover at times during our visit - apparently they are commonly found in thatch roof's. For the price of the accomodation I would have expected that this would have been managed in some way, or have a cover of some type put above the bed to prevent it falling onto where you are sleeping. Apart from that the room was clean. Overall, a peaceful and enjoyable visit. Secure parking available.

Room Tip: The thatch roof huts outside are very spacious. However there are quite a few stairs to reach these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It's like being in a park, not in a town.
The Loerie Hide it's placed in a green area surrounded by a fantastic garden. You can see lots of birds and hear them singing. But you are just in a big town like East London!
My room, the Safari Room, was very comfortable, clean, spacious and had a big balcony. Its shape and its furniture feels you like being in a Safari camp in the bush!
I had a simple but good breakfast, freshly-cooked, served in a beautiful dining room with an incredible view over the garden.
Thank Sue for your hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The Loerie Hide provides b&b accommodation in a delightful garden setting, where birdsong is the only sound. The property is perched on a hill-side, offering fine views across the tree tops. Freshly-cooked breakfasts, enjoyed in the main house, are eaten at a communal table. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Flight of steps to rondavels - accommodation otherwise available in mani house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I felt like I was living in a tree hut and a very unfit person like me didnt appreciate the stairs at first but after getting luggage and going out for dinner, the stairs were a good work out. I found the garden setting to be very connecting, I was on business so didnt find the energy to work, so wouldnt recommend this spot if you want to slave behind your laptop, you just need to sit outside and sip some cocktails! The breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Rondavel room and we highly recommend it for honey-mooners as it is private, cozy, honey and very romantic. The room was clean and had its own deck.
The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was incredible. You can eat with a great view of the back gardens and they let you choose from a menu what hot meal you prefer, aside from the great coffe, juices, fruit and such they provide.
We recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We thought the position was beautiful, the room was large and well-appointed and the service was warm and professional. Thank you Susan and staff.

Room Tip: Safari Room was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Loerie Hide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loerie Hide

Address: 2B Sheerness Road | Bonnie Doon, East London, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in East London
Hotel Class:4 star — The Loerie Hide 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Loerie Hide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.