We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD to your Saves list
Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   90 De Korte Street, Braamfontein 2001, South Africa (Formerly Lamunu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Braamfontein B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Basic Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in room 211. Rooms are basic, but modern, compact, with open washrooms. Was advised this was a quiet room not facing street, however there was noise from people on street. Good location for access to Origins Museum, Newtown, Gautrain. Room was non-smoking, but smoke smell evident in hallway occasionally. Wifi available at cost in lobby. Additional 50/day ZAR to have room made-up. Comfortable bed. Fast food restaurants available nearby.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave H, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to post your review of our hotel.

I am sorry you were disturbed by street noise. Our location is in a predominantly student area , as we are close to the Wits University , and comes 'alive' during the evenings particularly weekends. Aside from that we're delighted that you could experience our Simple comfort at great value.



Warm regards

Dave Hackney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The rooms in this hotel are small and simple, fine if you are on a budget and want to be centrally located in Johannesburg. There isn't a sitting area in your room, and the washroom is fully open to the bedroom which was fine for a solo traveler. The hotel is located in up and coming Braamfontein, which has lots of cute restaurants and shops close by, but I felt the area was still unsafe after dark. The good news is that it is walking distance to Park Station, the main train station for both getting to the airport, around the city, and for long distance trains, so there was no need to spend money on a taxi for any of these things. The red city sightseeing bus stop is also nearby, which was a plus. Overall a good stay but likely I would not stay in this area again, but rather somewhere in the suburbs where I can get more value for my money and commute into this area for its offerings.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in the Easyhotel. It is located in a vibrant part of Johannesburg, lots of little places for a coffee, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very nearby is a great pizza place (86 public), so no need to go far when it is dark in the evening. The rooms were clean, very modern design. The only 'negative' is that there is no door in the bathroom... but other than that definitely a place to stay in Johannesburg. If you are here on a saturday, do not miss the neughbourhoodmarket.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely no thrills, no frills hotel in the heart of Joburg CBD. Proximity to many fast food chains like McDonalds, KFC, Wimpy, Nandos etc, as well as shopping malls. Easy Hotel is also just a cheap taxi drive away from many of the attractions in Joburg.

The Park Train station (Gautrain) is also a walking distance away. The rooms are small but well appointed despite it being a budget hotel. No refrigerator in the room though. The Air conditioner in my room also malfunctioned so it couldn't warm the room up on my second day in a very cold winter. But the duvet and nice bedding were helpful.

A down side is the fact you will have to pay for your room to be cleaned and wifi is not free (depending on the class of room booked)

Overall the experience was nice. Easy hotel delivers just what it promises... nothing much.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the higher floors are better for much less of the street noise. However, air conditione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay with us here at easyHotel JHB CBD.

We strive to afford our guests with a stylish, comfortable product that is great value for money.

I was disappointed to read that you experienced some problems in your room with the heating, especially during winter. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard. I can assure you that this is not typical and I am delighted that we were able to resolve this for you.

We highly appreciate your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests that we are better able to improve on our shortcomings and best utilize our strengths.

It is the goal of our team here at easyHotel to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible so that their stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship.

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you back to easyHotel.

Kind Regards
Carmen Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Ever since I found this place a year ago I make it my business to stay here. It's a quick jump to Soweto and anywhere for that matter thanks to the Gautrain and the numerous taxi ranks near by. In the middle of Braamfontein it affords access to some of the new hip restaurants, bars and clubs that are a part of the constantly changing landscape of Braam. Moderately clean rooms (with comfortable clean beds) which are really worth the price if you book EARLY!!!!!. The wifi isn't always the best but it does work. The occasional weekend party in the courtyard may make for some noise but all in all its a quite place to stay. I actually miss this place when I am away! The staff is one of the finest in SA and I really enjoy there courtesy and professionalism. Well done and I look forward to returning soon!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are better, 3 and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay with us here at easyHotel JHB CBD.

I was delighted to read that you consider our Hotel to be your, 'home away from home'. Here at easyHotel, we strive to provide our valued guests with just that kind of experience.

I was however disappointed to learn that you had problems with wifi connectivity. We have invested substantially in providing our guests with a high speed, stable connection in designated rooms. I will ensure that this is tested and that any problems are rectified.

We appreciate your positive and constructive feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to easyHotel in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,
Carmen Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

One of the budget friendly hotels in Johannesburg that offer the basics in a nice way. There is little customer service and don't pamper you like five star hotels but the room I stayed in was big, warm for the winter, had to pay extra for cleaning. Particularly liked the level of privacy given and the close proximity to CBD Johannesburg.

Room Tip: The fourth floor has better rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen G, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your stay at easyHotel JHB CBD.

We were delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I was however disappointed that you found our service to be substandard. I assure you that this is not typical and I will discuss your comments with my team as a reminder of our commitment to our valued guests to provide a high level of service at all times.

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you back to easyHotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Carmen Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Easy hotel has a great location in the middle of rapidly renewing Braamfontein. You can walk to lots of attractions and places: Constitution Hill, JoBurg theater, Wits University, the main train station and much more, and it's a lot safer than it used to be. The hotel is simple, elegant and no-fuss. No frills: no in-room dining or laundry so no phone in the room, for example. Clean modern rooms and bathrooms but there's no closet and the room is pretty small. The restaurant and bar attached have good food, including a really good buffet breakfast at a reasonable price. Friendly and helpful front desk: You can borrow the hard- to-find South African adaptor for a 100 rand deposit, which is handy. Downside: it can be noisy, including at the bar downstairs, so get a room on a higher floor. And while I thought it was reasonably priced, I was told the nearby all suite hotel was not that much more expensive, would be worth investigating.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD

Address: 90 De Korte Street, Braamfontein 2001, South Africa (Formerly Lamunu)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Braamfontein
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Braamfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
easyHotel De Korte Street offers simplified comfort in a stylishly fun environment, all decked out in a retro colour-palette – bold oranges set strikingly against blacks and browns – and quirky details. Situated in the heart of Johannesburg and within walking distance of the Nelson Mandela Bridge, it’s easy getting to the nearby theatres, night spots, restaurants, major universities and prominent courts; its the ultimate in cool urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamunu Hotel Johannesburg
Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD Braamfontein, Greater Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.