We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not disappoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grapes

Grapes
111 Main Street, Jerome, AZ 86331 (Formerly the Jerome Brewery)
928 639 8477
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 restaurants in Jerome
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Tucson, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We decided to try Grapes since we had eaten once in the building in 2005. We could not remember it being the same establishment, but their history said otherwise. Either way, we wanted to try it.

I ordered the shrimp cocktail appetizer. It warned of 'atomic' cocktail sauce and it proved to be true. I am not a fan of horseradish, yet I enjoy the cocktail and accompanying sauce of most dishes. This was a bit spicy for my taste, but it was still enjoyable. There were probably 10 large shrimp, so I can't complain!

My husband ordered a 'zin' burger that was served with provolone (I think) and bacon on grilled sourdough. He loved it. It was very delicious. We shared his caesar salad which was also delicious.

I felt like a little dessert and picked the only chocolate item from the tray. It was supposed to be a cheesecake brownie of some sort with chocolate chips and served with vanilla ice cream. What came out was a chocolate brownie of some sort, quite cakey. I don't recall the chocolate chips. It tasted nice, but didn't stack up to the rest of the meal.

If the chocolate dessert was the lowest point of our trip/meals for the weekend, then we really can't complain. Prices and food were great. It wasn't busy because it was a freezing weekend. The service was perfect. We'll have to stay a week just so we can hit up all of the great places we tried this trip, in addition to the ones we didn't get to make it to!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Grapes, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
It sounds like you and your husband enjoyed great menu items. Chef Michelle loves the spicy cocktail sauce. It sends your taste buds down a different road! Thanks for visiting with us. We hope to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    206
    81
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Superb weekday specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We came on a Thursday and had the $5 glass of wine with the $5 pizza special. The wine was a very generous pour and the pizzas were great! Honestly, one of the nicest pizzas I’ve had in a really long time. My husband cannot eat cheese and the waitress was kind enough (patient enough…) to go through all the pizzas with him to make sure we found something he could eat. Even though the rest of the town was dead, this place was packed. The locals love it and it’s easy to see why.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Grapes, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Taking advantage of our weekly specials, that's the way to go! We're so glad to hear that the waitress was able to help your husband find a pizza that he could eat and that you both enjoyed it. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fast and fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I really appreciated the fast service. The food was excellent....soup and small sandwiches. It didn't break the bank and there wasn't too much food, which I find a waste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Grapes, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for posting your excellent feedback with TripAdvisor. We have shared your comments with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of Favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Always great food. Love to sit outside and enjoy the view. There are heaters on the patio so we tend to sit out all year round. Veggie Pizza and BBQ Pizza ... Our favorite. Tuscan Berry Salad.. The Best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Grapes, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We agree! The patio view is awesome. Don't forget that Thursday's after 5pm, all pizza's are $5!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Good food and even better happy hour weekday deals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Thursday is $5 pizza night ($6 for gluten free crust). They have a lot of wines to choose from and suggest pairings with the food items. I agree with some of the other reviews - the cheese and artichoke stuffed mushroom appetizer is awesome! Lots of veggie options to choose from - pizzas, pastas, salads, etc. They also suggested that they could make me an ice cream and choc desert as there was nothing wheat-free on the desert menu. Check out the daily specials.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Grapes, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
You noticed the variety of our menu! We certainly aim to please everyone's taste buds. It's wonderful to hear that you loved our weekday happy hour specials! We hope we can welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapes also viewed

 

Been to Grapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.