We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice day at The Asylum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Asylum Restaurant

The Asylum Restaurant
200 Hill St, Jerome, AZ 86331
928-639-3197
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Jerome
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Poway, CA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice day at The Asylum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in at the Jerome Grand Hotel and The Asylum restaurant. Nice day and relaxing time on the outside porch. Had the calamari which was very good. Order got a little messed up but Maureen made it all better. Liquid Valium drink was excellent as was local draft, Monkeyshine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer N, Owner at The Asylum Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed a relaxing afternoon on our patio, afterall the original intent for our name was "a place of refuge" (and of course the pun and fun with our name was intended as well). Glad to hear Maureen was able to fix a mix up too. Please come visit us again when you feel like getting away from it all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    134
    48
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food here is very good. Make sure not to skip the squash soup. Also grab a local wine and a table by the window for an awesome view. In the summer the front patio is also a great place to sit. We have never had a bad meal here!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer N, Owner at The Asylum Restaurant, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
First I must thank you for obviously being a repeat guest. It means the world to us to have guests come back. Even if it is your first time visiting us, we want your experience to be one that will bring you back. Our food is always made from scratch, to order, and we put lots of love into it along with patience (as with our soup, it takes hours to roast the squash and prepare the soup base.) We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spooky dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Asylum Restaurant reminded us of an old Alfred Hitchcock movie. We took the option of walking up to the restaurant from the center of Jerome. Beautiful scenic walk.

The interior of the restaurant was very welcoming and had a unique charm, with an unusual mixture of eye candy.

We were seated at what appeared to be some old french doors that were now used as windows. This provided us with a fantastic view of the mountains and city below.

The staff was extremely attentive and very knowledgeable. They were helpful in picking some delicious red wines we enjoyed with our dinner. The food was excellent, and the menu provided a a large variety of options.

If you are visiting Jerome, this is an excellent place to dine, we would highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
479 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Creepy fun in Jerome with fine dining high on the hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The Pork Tenderloin with Chilli sauce was very good and the Spicy Butternut Squash soup very tasty as well. The chicken dish was described to me as the best brown rice dish they have had so our meal was a great success despite the 158 or so hairpin curves to get to this creepy spot in the hill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Me Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Atmoshere was wonderful. We ate lunch there so not sure about their dinner menu. however, the burgers were average. With 4 sandwiches, two beers, one soda, and a mixed drink and tip it was $100.00. People were great, service was good. They say dinner is much better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Asylum Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Asylum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Asylum Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.