We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hauntingly Great Place to Eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haunted Hamburger

Haunted Hamburger
410 Clark Street, Jerome, AZ 86331
928-634-0554
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hot Dogs, Dessert, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Hauntingly Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stopped here for lunch after hiking the Wood Chute Trail on Mingus Mt. Jerome is just down the road, we have eaten here many times but always for dinner. As usual the place was packed but we were seated in about 15 minutes. We ate up stairs for the first time and didn't even know this existed as we have always been downstairs inside, or out on the patio. We were seated by a large window which had a great view. Folks were waiting for us to leave so they could grab it as we left! We shared the original hamburger and baked potato.. great baked potato! Anything you get at the HH is great food. Vanessa was our server as she was when we last ate there the end of June. Very efficient, fast and sweet.
One of the serendipities was that in June, I had left a beloved shirt there but didn't miss it until we were back in Sedona, where we were staying. I called and was told it would be mailed to me and I, of course, offered to pay the gal back. It never arrived so I left a note with Vanessa that day and lo and behold it arrived today and it had gone to the wrong address. Cheryl had taken the time to mail it back to me with the correct address. The shirt had traveled with me to Africa earlier in the year and I hated to lose it. I appreciated the willingness to send the shirt to me so that is a bonus to eat there! What service!
Read the story behind the Haunted Hamburger when you visit. They have daily lunches and specials for evenings each day of the week as well. May you enjoy the HH as much as we do!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for such an amazing review. It makes us so happy to hear that our staff took such great care of you and that you were able to get your shirt back. We appreciate you taking the time to recommend us to future customers and we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    233
    65
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good food, mediocre service, good views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Ate here for lunch during our trip to Jerome and got the grilled veggie sandwich with fries. The food was really good. The services was average, but the servers were not friendly. Prices were average. Ate outside and the views were great!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the views and the food. On the other hand we apologize that the service was not that great. Your feedback is very important to us and we hope to improve in this area. Hopefully we will see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The whole town of Jerome and this restaurant is a tourist trap and the food at this restaurant was terrible. Burgers, fries, salads...all bad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you felt to poorly about our little town, there is a lot of history here and we feel bad that you were unable to experience its charm. It sounds like it was a bad day for you and we are very sorry to hear that. We apologize that are food was not up to your standards. If we knew more specifically what you did not like about it maybe it would give us more of a chance to correct the things you did not care for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Haunted? Great Burger, absolutely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The legends say its Haunted. We say the food was great.

We had been on a Jeep ride in Sedona and our driver recommended we try Haunter Burger in Jerome. Its a very interesting place, Jerome I mean. Quirky and fun. Worth the drive.

We enjoyed non-stop homemade lemonade and a really great burger. We sat outside and you take your burger back inside to a condiment smorg. It was nice to pick out your own toppings and amounts.

Service was really good. All ages will enjoy this place

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the fabulous review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. See you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Knoxville, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not all that great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We asked for a table with a view (the hostess seemed irritated by the request). She waved her arm to the middle of the restaurant and told us to have a seat. This table didn't really have a view. There was only one table in the small, very crowded restaurant that had a view and it was taken. The hamburgers were average and very overpriced. I would think for the prices they charge, the kitchen staff could put condiments on the hamburgers. Instead, we were motioned to the front of the restaurant to a small bar of condiments. We had to weave our way through tables and customers waiting near the door to reach it. Our waitress did come to refill drinks and ask if everything was ok but acted as if we were an inconvenience to her day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauntedGroup, Owner at Haunted Hamburger, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are very disappointed to hear that your experience with us was less than memorable. Your feedback is important to us and we are sorry to hear that the service was not up to par. It is a small, historic building and we do our best to deliver a unique experience, but that unique experience should be a great one and yours wasn't and for that we apologize. We hope you give us another shot in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haunted Hamburger also viewed

 

Been to Haunted Hamburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haunted Hamburger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.