We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dionysian Cellars

Dionysian Cellars
403 Clark St. A#, Jerome, AZ 86331
928 634 5451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Activities in Jerome
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dionysian Cellars was founded in 2007 by owner and winemaker Darin Evans with one goal in mind...to produce ultra premium wines. All wines are created in a Dionysian fashion with respect to each wines unique personality. We produce Barbera, Chardonnay, Tempranillo, Syrah, Pinot Noir, and Malbec and we are adding new and exciting varietals every year. Darin has been making estate wines for Freitas Vineyard since 2007.We offer Both Freitas Vinyards and Dionysian Cellars wine at our Jerome location. We hope to present Arizona and the world with more fantastic wines in the future!!
florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped in here towards the end of our day in Jerome and were happy we did. We love wine, especially red wine! However, we are pinot drinkers and prefer a lighter red wine. They were out of the pinot but the wines we tasted were all delish! We ended up taking a bottle home with us which we thoroughly enjoyed. Melissa knew her stuff too and we had great convo with her during our tasing. Good stuff!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good sized pour of some very nice wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Friendly Lab met us at the door with his stuffed soccer ball. He remained friendly throughout our visit. Even those of us who were not tasting had a good time. Enough wine in the glass to tell what it really was and not a sip and guess stop. Too many of those wineries in town.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Super cute tasting room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I loved the nostalgia of this tasting room. Several of the wines were served out of beautiful
vintage decanters. In addition, you can pick the amount of wines you want to taste and pay accordingly. I highly recommend this place if you like great wine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“1st visit to Jerome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had no idea what to expect coming into Jerome, but continued walking up the street until we found some people inside this great little place called Dionysian Cellars wine tasting. We decided to go in and boy are we glad we did! We tasted 5 different wines and honestly can say there was not a one we didn't like. The biggest treat was meeting and talking with Melissa who was very knowledgable and helped us pick the 5 we tasted. She was GREAT!!! We will be back!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Made our trip to Jerome - outstanding wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We lived in CA for 20 years and were spoiled by wine tasting in Napa Valley and the surrounding area. We were visiting Prescott for the first time and did a day trip to Jerome. We were not expecting great wines, just the opportunity to have some fun wine tasting. We did not expect to find some the absolutely outstanding wines we found at Dionysian Cellars.

This shop tastes two wine brands:
http://freitasvineyard.com/ and
http://dionyiancellars.com (more info about them at http://www.oldtownwinecellar.com/About.html ).
Darin who creates the Dionysian line also is the master wine maker at Freitas vineyard.
We like the wines from both brands and ended up buying one of each.

Mellisa who poured our tastes gave us a lot of information about how they make their wines and how they use methods to create more European/Italian/French type wines (rather than CA/US type wines). She was very knowledgeable and it was easy to tell these wine makers were serious about their craft.

We did a 6 wine tastings (sharing the tastes) and were wowed by these exceptional wines. All the wines we tasted were very nice (2 whites and 6 reds overall) and we could easily imagine us drinking any of them, but we normally don't buy a bottle unless either we feel it is a good wine for a lower price or unless we are floored by the wine. The prices are higher here as they make small batches (small batches are more costly to make), priced roughly about $40 a bottle. We prefer red wines, but I also sometimes like nice Riesling that is a little sweet and fruity. Normally Chardonnays are too dry for me, but their Chardonnay was not as dry, it was clean and crisp though not sweet or fruity. I enjoyed it. We tried 4 of the reds and when we reached the Rays Mesa 2009 we loved it. We could just imagine having it with a good Italian pasta dinner. Rebecca gave us an extra tasting of the Malbec since we were buying a bottle and we were floored. I have only recently started to drink Malbecs (having been introduced to them during a trip to NYC by an Italian friend). This blew away the few Malbecs I have had in the last couple of months. In fact, we have not had such a wonderful wine for probably two decades since we lived in CA. We bought one of these also.

I highly encourage anyone stopping in Jerome to try out wine tasting at Dionysian Cellars, it is well worth the time spent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dionysian Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Dionysian Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dionysian Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.