We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny, tiny town with issues for many” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jerome State Historic Park

Jerome State Historic Park
State Route 89A, Jerome, AZ 86331
928-634-5381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Jerome
Type: Ghost Towns, State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park is located on the grounds of the historic Douglas Mansion and Mine Museum and has displays on local mining history and methods.
United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tiny, tiny town with issues for many”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I hate to say anything about this town because it is a tourist destination, but I feel that I need to share some info that may help others. This town is not unlike the town of Tombstone in that it was once a thriving, old western town that has now been made solely as a tourist stop for those who are looking for a peek into the past. If you enjoy a slightly tacky tourist stop, you can enjoy this town. But be warned (we would not have driven out and up to it, had we known) that although it is widely known to be a vertical town that you must drive up to, it is nearly impossible to walk it if you have any physical problems.

The town consists of 3 parallel streets lined with businesses, so there is limited parking, no big lots, just a few dirt spots and parking on the street that fill up fast.

As for the reason that I would not recommend visiting this town for anyone with health issues, orthopedic issues, the elderly or even families with strollers is that the streets are tiny and are uneven and can cause problems. To get from one of the 3 streets to the next, you must navigate extremely steep stairs or walk a distance to get to a cross street that winds up to the next level then hike up almost as steep a street as the stairs.

Bottom line, there is only about a half hours worth of stuff to see, and way too strenuous and hazardous negotiating to do to make this town worth seeing.

Wish I could say it was worth the drive, but I can't.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    69
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lazy weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me, wife, two sons, girlfriend, and grand daughter decided not to sit at home. Drove to Prescott Upper Goldwater Lake and did the easy 2 mile hike along the lake, then had a picnic lunch. ($2 parking fee). It was a bit crowded due to Memorial day but we had no expectations and it was enjoyable. Then we took SR 89A the back way into Jerome. Haven't driven that in years. Again a bit of traffic but it wasn't that bad. Very scenic only had to stop for a few minutes to let my 3 year old rest her stomach. The switch backs were getting to her. In five minutes she was fine, there is a pull out scenic view about 2/3 of the way to Jerome. Jerome was very busy so we just took the short drive to Historic area. It was a good day trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Jerome, Arizona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of our favorite day or overnight trips is to the old mining town of Jerome, Arizona. After hiking we drive up the hill to this historic town for dinner and a glass of wine. The town has been revitalized having gone from ghost town, to hippie town, to hip little destination. There isn't a lot to do in the way of entertainment but if walking, shopping and eating are your pleasure you will enjoy your visit. Take the time to tour the museum, too, to get a very well done regional history lesson.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Very informative museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stopped here to break up our drive back to Tucson. It was well worth it. The museum has excellent exhibits and a lot of information about the town and its mining history.
The town's tourist section didn't interest us, we just drove around and out again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Fun for the Whole Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Douglas Mansion is over 8000 sq ft. It had a central vacuum. It is made of adobe so is nice and cool inside. Kids really liked the fluorescent minerals and the 3d model of Jerome. It was neat to see all the tunnels under Jerome. It is riddled with them. Families were picnicking outside on the grounds. Very informative and interesting. Well worth the $5 per person fee.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerome State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Jerome State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerome State Historic Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.