We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & Ole Beautiful building with views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerome Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jerome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jerome Grand Hotel
Save
You added Jerome Grand Hotel to your Saves list
200 Hill St., Jerome, AZ 86331   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jerome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great staff & Ole Beautiful building with views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our daughter wanted her 18th. birthday party to be memorable ,so she wanted to celebrate at the Jerome Grand Hotel with the ghost tour. The staff was great and treated everyone with respect. All the girls enjoyed themselves on the tour and could not stop talking about how much fun they had.(highly recommend the ghost tour) The rooms were clean with comfortable beds, bathrooms were nice spacious and up dated. Just don't exspect flat screen tv, the tv is old but you'll be to busy walking and enjoying the decor the hotel has to experience. I like to thank Chris who handled most part of our trip and the ghost tour, It's hard to find people who go that extra step to make sure everyone has an enjoyable time.

Room Tip: It's well worth getting a room with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    89
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
53
118
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Redford, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Restaurant ok but high priced for mediocre. Service not very good, book specific room months in advance to arrive and have them tell me they've already put someone in it. No apology, no discount, no additional anything; just nope, you can't have the room you booked. Can hear everything, sound carries like crazy down the halls. Not haunted, no experiences and can explain away everything others claim. No wifi in rooms, barely a continental breakfast. Overall WAY over priced to the "idea" that you may have a ghost encounter. The only plus we can come up with is that we liked our balcony overlooking the town of Jerome and Verde Valley and that the bed was comfortable for sleeping.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We just stayed 3 nights at the Jerome Grand and it ws a fun and interesting experience! The hotel is beautiful and creepy,the service was nice, and we are planning a return trip in April. Get a valley view and get ready for true panorama. The decor is fitting and fascinating, esp the old elevator. Cabinets with old surgical tools, old pump organs and we slept in a comfortable Murphy bed. The sun room-balcony had breathtaking views. The staff was nice, even if I was disappointed in the depth of their knowlege, which seemed fairly superficial. I would know EVERYTHING about the place if I worked there. Nice gift shop, and we had a truly memorable if pricy meal in the Asylum, which does have an excellent wine list and steaks to die for. The presntation is lovely. It is not a scary place, but does have an other-worldly ambience.I love the off-the-beaten-path stay and this did live up to my expectations.A brief drive to beautiful Sedona that has quite and history and heritage of its own. Do it if you can. You wil not be sorry!

Room Tip: The "death rooms" where the hospice patients stayed were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my wife. If you're looking for the Jerome experience or to get away from the Sedona tourists, this is a great hotel. We had a balcony room on the third floor overlooking the town. Excellent views. Bed was very comfortable. Room and bathroom were clean and spacious. Definitely worth checking out this place if you want a quiet secluded experience.

Of note, when looking around town we were frequently asked where we were staying. Upon responding, we universally heard the same answer, "next time you come, you should stay somewhere else." No one would tell me why specifically, but there is clearly an odd dynamic between the owners of this establishment and the people who live in Jerome. That didn't change the fact that it was a pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A fantastic step back in time, from the real keys to open doors, 1926 Otis Elevator, oldfashioned switchboard, to steam radiators heating in room. We stayed it two connecting rooms that shared a bathroom and closet/walkway between rooms. We later found out these were the so called :Death Rooms" (Hospice). Everything was well explained when we checked in, including using the elevator, phone system, and radiators. A ghost tour / history of the hotel was offered so we signed up and received a discount on our room. Loved how the long hauls and spacious rooms were filled with furniture and other period pieces, along with some old hospital pieces. It was also well done up for Halloween. Room was very clean, comfortable, and well stocked. No coffee maker in room but it was available downstairs in the lobby (as was a breakfast of bagels and pastry the next morning). We decided to stay and eat at the Asylum before the tour, and staff was very helpful in keeping things moving so we didn't run late. Even though we arrived 15 minutes before it opened we were accommodated. It was a little pricey but well worth it. Really enjoyed the tour and history of the hotel. We were given thermometers, EMF detectors, and cameras. It was definitely fun and interesting. Beds were comfortable, and radiators certainly heated the room. I had to adjust in the middle of the night. Our room was on the mountain side which was fine for our one night stay, but when we come back we'd like to stay longer and request a valley view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

If you stay in Jerome you have to stay here! Best view in the city (only one side of the building has a view though)! There is an old 1900 elevator you can use, the rooms are clean and spacious and the room entrances are locked to outside visitors who dont belong which is nice.

If you dont mind spending $100 for dinner for two, go ahead and eat here, but remember youre paying for convenience and the experience.

The tour at night was a rip-off at $20 /person. The best part was seeing the old boiler room and peaking into a suite that was once the OR. It was a mini-history of the old hospital, nothing more and something that you cod read about online. If you believe in Orbs or Ghosts go for it. Otherwise its your money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clairsville, OH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I ate here back in 2000 and knew we had to make it back to stay in the hotel. We did not, however, think it would take 13 years! We finally were able to make it back and it was everything we had hoped for. We had the 3rd floor Balcony Room (straight across from the elevator). The room was large and nicely appointed. My wife loved the bathroom and we both really enjoyed the extra large balcony. We stayed three nights and both slept well the entire time. If I have any complaint at all, it would be that we could not get the room cold enough for us. We are a bit unusual when it comes to a sleeping temperature, enjoying it down in the low 60's. Do not pass up a chance to stay there. Worth every cent! Checkout the original elevator. Additional note: Do not miss the Gold King Mine and Ghost Town.

Room Tip: Our room (I believe it was number 34) located straight across from the elevator, had an extra large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerome Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerome Grand Hotel

Address: 200 Hill St., Jerome, AZ 86331
Location: United States > Arizona > Jerome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jerome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel in Jerome, Arizona overlooking the Verde Valley. A National Historic Building offering fine dinning, ATV Rentals, Ghost Hunting nights on Tues and Thurs, Trolley Tours Wed, Verde Canyon Railroad Train tour packages, close to hiking trails and State Parks. We offer accommodations from Standard Guest Rooms to our new 2000 Sq Ft Grand Suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Jerome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerome Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.