We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable of you like that sort of thing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold King Mine Museum and Ghost Town

Gold King Mine Museum and Ghost Town
Jerome, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 attractions in Jerome
Type: Ghost Towns, Specialty Museums, History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A quirky collection of mining artifacts, old cars and collectibles, housed in over 15 buildings.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable of you like that sort of thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I could thoroughly understand some people not enjoying this place but personally, we loved it! It has a bit of everything, around what is an old ghost town, they have added loads of old trucks and machines, there is also a collection of old tools and engines most of which is scattered around the town. There is also an old mine-shaft that is closed off, but we still found it interesting.

There are also a few animals dotted around the town, most interestingly is Pedro the donkey who was just adorable! There are some chickens and goats as well. There is a little gift shop at the entrance and plenty of parking. There are a few slopes to negotiate though so if you are not great on you feet you may need some assistance.

In all though, we throughly enjoyed our visit and would recommend it to others. We spent just over an hour there and felt it was pretty good value for money for the entrance fee.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    40
    23
    14
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cottonwood, az
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Not the typical museum experience. It was a lot of fun, plus you can feed the donkey and the chickens. Nice gift shop. Very fun for a family.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
164 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“If you like cars/trucks this is for you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Lots of vintage vehicles and equipment. It was cool for a quick walk around but wasn't my cup of tea. It was worth the $4 entry fee to take a peek around.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A special Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

IT is a project that baffles yet interests the mind, something between a junkyard and a pickers would be paradise. I found it to be very interesting and the owner to be a super nice fellow. Definetely worth a walk-about

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinleyville, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun in Jerome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friends brought us here to expose us to the area a wee bit. I don't always enjoy these types of places, but this was fun and entertaining.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold King Mine Museum and Ghost Town also viewed

 

Been to Gold King Mine Museum and Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold King Mine Museum and Ghost Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gold King Mine Museum and Ghost Town to your Saves list