We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people running this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaibab Camper Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jacob Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaibab Camper Village
Save
You added Kaibab Camper Village to your Saves list
1 mile SW of Jacob Lake Inn off Hwy 67, on Forest Road 461, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great people running this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

We recently stay 5 days at this campground as new travel trailer owners. The management and grounds keepers could not have been more accommodating! They are friendly and professional and work very hard to make your stay trouble free and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We chose Kaibab Camper Village initially based on the closeness the the North Rim so we really didn't know what to expect. Upon arrival, we were greeted with the most friendly welcome. We were then guided to our camp area and directed to where the accomodations were. The camp areas were very clean and quiet and they had a general store to buy things we may have left at home. They even had a person on petrol during early evening hours to make sure everyone was ok and checking firepit usage. (Fire hazards were up while we were there and they had warnings/limits on when we could use the firepits).
Overall the experience was terrific. The staff were friendly and helpful, the campgrounds were very clean (even the "bathrooms"). I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a place close to the North Rim with great accomodations and great staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Good RV park with full hook ups close to North side of Grand Canyon

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My fiance and I took a two week roadtrip around the USA with one of our destinations being the Grand Canyon. This site was a perfect distance from there so we checked it out. We tent camped for two nights and we had our choice of a spot. There was tons of space and freedom to set up our site however we wanted. The chemical toilets were very clean and had no unpleasant aroma - which I had anticipated. The laundry and shower facilities were ideal, and I think the showers go for even longer than they say, as usually I am rushing to finish before the shower runs out, but here I had time to just relax. Showers are really important during my camping experience and they had excellent pressure and got really hot which I like. We did laundry and the facilities were ideal - the laundry room was actually nice and cool to sit in after a shower to do my makeup (I'm a bit of a princess when it comes to camping :). The staff were extremely pleasant and went our of their way to check in with us to make sure things were okay. It was the most rustic feeling and very quiet - not like a hectic KOA with kids running around everywhere... We had a truly relaxing experience and didn't want to leave! We don't have an RV so I cannot comment on others' reviews that were negative from that aspect, but maybe some should consider actually roughing it in a tent instead of expecting camping to be as comfortable as home...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The nightly charge is $35 regardless of whether the site is full hookup or water/electric only. If you have a shower in your rig then you get to use unlimited amounts of water. If you don't have a shower so that you need to use their shower then you end up paying twice. You've already paid for water, but then you have to pay $2.25 for a 5 minute shower (and I doubt that it was really 5 minutes long). The idea that charging for the shower is about water conservation is just baloney! On top of that the shower is the size of a phone booth so you can barely move.

The office staff was totally insensitive to our concerns about double-paying and had not told us up front about paying more for showers or about the primitive toilets. They simply pointed out where they were on the facility map, but no mention of what kind of toilets or showers they were. For $35 per night, every other RV park we have stayed in provides better facilities and doesn't pile on the charges.

The reason we stay in RV parks instead of USFS campgrounds is because of amenities such as showers. To have this added on makes this park one which is acceptable only because there is no private alternative in the area. If I had a choice, I would plan my trip so that I didn't need to stay in this area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaibabCamperVillage, Owner at Kaibab Camper Village, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
In response to your comments about our pricing structure: We used to charge less for our water and electric sites, but found that many guests at those sites asked to dump their sewage tank on the way out. So rather than charge them a dump fee, we changed the water and electric rate to be the same as the full hookup sites, and let them empty their sewage for free at one of the other sites. It seemed to be a simpler way of satisfying our guests without collecting another fee on the way out, as the office can get very busy in the mornings.

Eventually all our hookup sites will be upgraded to full hookups. We did a major upgrade to the electric system on the sites last fall, but a small family owned campground has to make improvements in stages.

Our showers have 5 min. timers installed by the manufacturer. They are at least as large as the coin operated showers at the North Rim, and priced the same.

The toilets are indeed outside. They are not porta potties; they are attached to a sewage system and are cleaned daily. They are in three locations, so they are never far from any site. Besides being shown in the Photo Gallery section of our website, there is now a 3 min. video on the website showing them prominently.

We appreciate good feedback that can help us to improve the way we do things and find ways to improve our Campground. I hope you will give us another try and look to us for your camping needs at Jacob Lake, on the north side of Grand Canyon National Park. If there are any questions you need answered or anything else I can do for you, please call me at 928-526-0924. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jacob Lake hotels

Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here in an RV.
Minuses: Kind of far from anywhere. The bathrooms, yes they are chemical toilets and they are kept clean, but there is no lighting in them, no where to set stuff, just not as good as a real bathroom. The store doesn't have any refrigerated or fresh items (milk, eggs, beer, ice)

Pluses: In itself it is a nice location - pretty, lots of trails, quiet. There's a nice little 1.5 mile trail to the Jacob Lake Inn, which has awesome pie! The RV spots are nice size with picnic tables and full hookups included dump right at site. The people running it are very nice.

We weren't overly happy or unhappy with the place. It was just fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaibabCamperVillage, Owner at Kaibab Camper Village, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for your review. Yes, it is kind of far from anywhere, because as you have seen, on the north side of Grand Canyon, everywhere is far from almost everywhere else. Which is why the North Rim only gets 10% as many visitors as the South Rim. A lot of our guests like it that way, and that it's a relatively easy drive on to a number of the other Grand Circle national parks in southern Utah such as Zion and Bryce Canyon.

The store does sell ice, and ice cream sandwiches and cold bottled soft drinks and water. We used to sell milk, eggs, etc., but guests either came with their own, or shopped at nearby Jacob Lake Inn (which is very nice to have so near: restaurant, etc.), so what perishable items we were carrying...perished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Made the mistake of paying up front, then seeing how all sites were right next to one and other. No refunds. Well some people need to make their money whether the customers are happy or not. We stayed at another campground in the area and found out there were other people that were not happy with their stay there either.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaibabCamperVillage, Owner at Kaibab Camper Village, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
We are puzzled that someone would complain that our sites are right next to each other. Our managers are experienced RV travelers, and they tell us that our sites are farther from each other than many of the campgrounds they have stayed in.

The other puzzling thing is that we help our guests get parked. We do this all the time as a matter of policy because people have a tendency of running over our pedestals if we don’t guide them into their sites. If this gentleman decided against staying before he even hooked up, we would have refunded his money, but once they have hooked up we don’t usually offer a refund. There is no dump station in our area or at the North Rim of Grand Canyon National Park. Once a guest hooks up they can use our site to dump their toilets or use other facilities. There needs to be a cost for that.

We have a guest book with a number of comments from very happy guests and a lot of repeat business too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaibab Camper Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaibab Camper Village

Address: 1 mile SW of Jacob Lake Inn off Hwy 67, on Forest Road 461, Jacob Lake, AZ 86022
Location: United States > Arizona > Jacob Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Jacob Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaibab Camper Village is the only campground (private or public) near the North Rim of Grand Canyon that has RV hookups. A quiet, family owned campground with many tall, beautiful Ponderosa pine trees, it is a pleasant mixture of shade and Arizona sunshine at an elevation of about 7,900 feet. The North Rim is about 42 miles south, via State Route 64. Kanab, Utah is 37 miles to the northwest. Kaibab National Forest land surrounds the campground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaibab Camper Village Hotel Jacob Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaibab Camper Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.