We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 West Hopi Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
wales, uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not very friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Upon arrival to Holbrook, on our travels through Route 66, I was a little concerned as to why we had been placed in Holbrook at all! I have to say the area didn't feel very safe and was certainly not as welcoming another places we have been on this route. The Magnuson Adobe Inn was no exception, with a sullen receptionist to book us in, he gave us very basic information about the area. The room was okay, but basic and the door didn't shut properly, unless you gave it a good slam. This is one of those places that opens straight onto the street and this was not a street you want to open straight on to. The room was clean and serviceable, but I am sorry to say it is not a place I would recommend staying. I just didn't feel safe. Surprisingly, I did sleep comfortably though.

Room Tip: I just don't advise staying in Holbrook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
24
37
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel was horrible. It is actually a motel, not a hotel, for starters. There was little ticks and fleas flying everywhere in the hotel. The shower was so hard to turn on, you had to be a body builder to turn the thing on! The air vent was extremely loud, you can not sleep. We tried to turn the heat on, and it blew cold air! The room was extremely cold, too. I would never recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! We stopped at this hotel late at night, hoping to find a cheaper place to stay and we were disappointed at the results we got. Outside there were a bunch of shady looking men running around being rowdy with each other and banging on cars. The shower in the joke of a bathroom didn't drain, and there were issues with turning it off. We found that you had to push extremely hard, which could be a problem for older people or children. There was only 1/2 a role of toilet paper left in the bathroom, and just a few tissues in the tissue box. It seemed like the room hadn't been cleaned well. There were tiny fleas and other bugs circling around the bathroom area and the towels, a lot of dead ones as well lying on the counter top by the sink. Late at night when we wanted to find a vending machine, we went to get change at the front desk. The lady working there was heavily overcome by drugs and was barely conscious or able to speak. The other workers weren't any more helpful (or drug-free) as you would hope they would be. After the whole experience with the drugged up worker, we come to find the vending machine doesn't even work. Wow. The phone that should call to the front desk didn't work, come to find there wasn't really anyone at the front desk besides the drugged up lady who wasn't able to process what we tried to ask her. There wasn't any heat in the room, it was freezing and when we put the heat on, it only got colder. The heating system was extremely loud as well and the combination of the cold and noise made it nearly impossible to sleep. The fridge in the room didn't really cool well, the cold water stays hot for about fifteen seconds and the breakfast was nothing more than average. Well, somewhat under average I would say. It looked unclean and there wasn't the best selection of food. All I can say is, if you stay here after reading this, good luck to you!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can avoid it. Paying an extra 10 bucks to go to a hotel without all of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were just looking for an inexpensive overnight while traveling, and that's what we got. Room was basic, bedside lights didn't work, and receptionist was not very helpful with questions. Room did have a refrigerator and microwave, and ice was available in the morning, but walls were thin and you could hear footsteps from the room above. Breakfast was basic. Don't expect much if you stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stopped here on the way home from Phoenix (to Colorado). What a great find. The front desk person was very pleasant, our room was immaculate, the beds great, and the bathroom very clean. These are the clues to a well-run motel. New owners took this over, and it is a great find. The rates are also awesome, and they are dog friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

if you want a five star do bother but if you need a place to stay in Holbrook or surrounding area to see the sights it is a good place to get some sleep and at least a hot breakfast. it the standard chain type place. it was clean a quiet. i would stay there again if in the area as it is good jump point for the sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after visting canyons and going back to Phoenix to catch a flight. The staff allowed us to see a room before commiting. A competitor down the road had not allowed us to view a room. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Breakfast was good. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook

Address: 615 West Hopi Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the pet friendly Magnuson Hotel Adobe of Holbrook can enjoy a free breakfast, outdoor pool, on site exercise room, and free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Adobe Hotel Holbrook
Best Western Holbrook
Holbrook Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.