We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Druggies and fleas galore!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook

Save Saved
You added Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 West Hopi Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Holbrook
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Druggies and fleas galore!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! We stopped at this hotel late at night, hoping to find a cheaper place to stay and we were disappointed at the results we got. Outside there were a bunch of shady looking men running around being rowdy with each other and banging on cars. The shower in the joke of a bathroom didn't drain, and there were issues with turning it off. We found that you had to push extremely hard, which could be a problem for older people or children. There was only 1/2 a role of toilet paper left in the bathroom, and just a few tissues in the tissue box. It seemed like the room hadn't been cleaned well. There were tiny fleas and other bugs circling around the bathroom area and the towels, a lot of dead ones as well lying on the counter top by the sink. Late at night when we wanted to find a vending machine, we went to get change at the front desk. The lady working there was heavily overcome by drugs and was barely conscious or able to speak. The other workers weren't any more helpful (or drug-free) as you would hope they would be. After the whole experience with the drugged up worker, we come to find the vending machine doesn't even work. Wow. The phone that should call to the front desk didn't work, come to find there wasn't really anyone at the front desk besides the drugged up lady who wasn't able to process what we tried to ask her. There wasn't any heat in the room, it was freezing and when we put the heat on, it only got colder. The heating system was extremely loud as well and the combination of the cold and noise made it nearly impossible to sleep. The fridge in the room didn't really cool well, the cold water stays hot for about fifteen seconds and the breakfast was nothing more than average. Well, somewhat under average I would say. It looked unclean and there wasn't the best selection of food. All I can say is, if you stay here after reading this, good luck to you!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can avoid it. Paying an extra 10 bucks to go to a hotel without all of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
22
34
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were just looking for an inexpensive overnight while traveling, and that's what we got. Room was basic, bedside lights didn't work, and receptionist was not very helpful with questions. Room did have a refrigerator and microwave, and ice was available in the morning, but walls were thin and you could hear footsteps from the room above. Breakfast was basic. Don't expect much if you stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stopped here on the way home from Phoenix (to Colorado). What a great find. The front desk person was very pleasant, our room was immaculate, the beds great, and the bathroom very clean. These are the clues to a well-run motel. New owners took this over, and it is a great find. The rates are also awesome, and they are dog friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

if you want a five star do bother but if you need a place to stay in Holbrook or surrounding area to see the sights it is a good place to get some sleep and at least a hot breakfast. it the standard chain type place. it was clean a quiet. i would stay there again if in the area as it is good jump point for the sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after visting canyons and going back to Phoenix to catch a flight. The staff allowed us to see a room before commiting. A competitor down the road had not allowed us to view a room. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Breakfast was good. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel was the second best Western that had no elevator and this was a bus tour of mainly Senior Citizens. We had stayed at a Best Western in Williams, Az and our group leader did call ahead to see if this was a problem at this hotel. They did tell her that they also, did not have an elevator but would try and put everyone on the first floor. There were some of us that had to stay on the second floor. This included my husband and I. Having been on a 10 day tour, we did have heavy luggage, which did cause some difficulties in transporting to the second floor. We then got to the second floor and our card did not work. Therefore, my husband returned to the desk to get new cards. That evening, when attempting to set the alarm, we could not see to do so, as the light fixture where you turn on the light was broken. We then called the desk for a wake up call to find that we had no service. They told us they were in the process of getting new phones, but I find that difficult to believe, as I see that others long before this stay also had no phone service. Some people had problems staying in a room that had recently been varnished and could not get another room and so had to sleep with their door partially open! How dangerous is this? Then another gentleman went to take his morning walk and realized that he had forgotten which room was his and went to the desk to get his room number and found out he wasn't even registered. The room itself, thankfully, was clean and roomy and the beds were comfortable. However, with all the other problems with this hotel, I doubt that I would recommend this to others until they "get thy S.... together! !
We stayed in one more Best Western in Moriarty, N.M. and I will say this was the "best" Best Western we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The best that can be said about this motel is that it's very basic. Neither the heat nor the phone was working when we were there, but it turned out that we didn't need either. There was no information in the room about the TV channel lineup, and we could have used more cups.

The desk staff was pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook

Address: 615 West Hopi Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 hotels in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the pet friendly Magnuson Hotel Adobe of Holbrook can enjoy a free breakfast, outdoor pool, on site exercise room, and free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Adobe Hotel Holbrook
Best Western Holbrook
Holbrook Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Adobe Holbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.