We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA

Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA
Save
You added Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA to your Saves list
102 Hermosa Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in the Holbrook KOA as part of our Route 66 trip across America in April/May. We stayed in many campsites on our trip and I have to say that this one is the one that will stick in my memory the most and all for good reasons. We only got to stay one night but I would've liked to stay longer. The host and hostess are just lovely family people and really took us foreigners under their wing. They kept their BBQ open late for us and sat and chatted with us. We even suggested that they come back to Ireland and with us :) The food was really tasty and the next morning they gave us our first proper American breakfast - pancakes and coffee! It was lovely sitting out and chit chatting with the other guests and sharing our travelling experiences. The stay and the food was all very good value and the place is very well kept. It is very clear the owners take a lot of pride in their campgrounds. They are very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. The location is also near some of the most noteworthy Route 66 attractions. Don't miss the Petrified Forest! Thanks for the lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The attendant was extremely helpful after a long day of driving and even pointed out the 20% off coupon for the nearby Denny's that they have on their campground map. The place was clean and well-groomed, even for a desert location. They have an outdoor "chuckwagon" grill so you can eat dinner and breakfast without even leaving the campground. The also have a nice gift shop.

Just as a warning Arizona does not observe daylight savings so the are an hour behind New Mexico and Utah during the summer. The confusing part is that the Navajo Reservation DOES observe daylight savings so if you're headed for Canyon de Chellly or Hubble Trading Post, keep that in mind.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I'm almost never stay in RV parks, but I am traveling with my parents in their RV for a quick trip with my kids. I thought this KOA park was great. Clean showers, restrooms, fun little play area for the kids - complete with an "old school" merry go round they loved. Too windy for swimming but the pool looked very clean and was quiet large. They have a chuckwagon breakfast and dinner which is basically a little food stand where you can order hamburgers, hotdogs and steak for dinner and eggs/pancakes for breakfast. We had breakfast and I thought the prices were extremely reasonable. Staff friendly and helpful. Fellow travelers also great. Nice place for a quick stop. We were traveling in a 43' motor home. You are pretty close to your neighbors, but it was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Overall we enjoyed this campground. It is a typical southwest RV park, which basically means a lot of gravel. We rented a super tent site and I think it spoiled me, because the idea of camping without electricity seems like a hardship after this experience. The super tent site was surrounded by a fence on three sides, plus tress so it was nice. Kids loved the pool and playground. They also have horseshoes, volleyball, and basketball. They lend out the equipment at the office.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed one night in a cabin on our way from AZ to NY. We also had a large moving truck towing a vehicle on a carrier. They were kind enough to put us in a cabin right next to an RV site that allowed us to have our truck parked right next to us. The host was very helpful with our questions, the bathrooms were clean, the cabin was clean. There is some highway noise but we didn't find it bothersome. The campground was quiet after dark, my family enjoyed the dinner and breakfast both that were offered there. I was able to find food at the local Safeway that was safe with my food allergies. We were able to find gas stations that were easy to get in and out of. We would definitely stay there again if we find ourselves out west again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The owners are very polite and happy to help with anything. The rv sites are well set up. The bathrooms are very clean. The cookout and pancake breakfast don't start till May 1. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

During our trip across the southwest in our 38' class A motorhome, we needed a stop between Page and Santa Fe, and the Holbrook/Petrified Forest KOA fit the bill perfectly. This KOA isn't fancy, but the staff was very pleasant, the gravel sites were big and level, and it had very easy access to I-40.

I also have to say that the food wasn't bad at all. We had just finished a long day's drive and didn't really feel like going out, so we tried the steak that they cook up right there at the KOA. It wasn't filet mignon, but it was pretty darn good and very reasonably priced. It was also fun to try the "petrified toast," which I'll leave as a surprise for when you get there.

We'll be passing through the Southwest again at some point, and I plan to stay here a second time when we do so we can check out the nearby Petrified Forest, which we didn't have a chance to see this go around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA

Address: 102 Hermosa Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Holbrook
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbrook / Petrified Forest KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.