We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let Veronica serve you!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Restaurant & Motel

El Rancho Restaurant & Motel
867 Navajo Blvd, Holbrook, AZ 86025-2646
928-524-3332
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 restaurants in Holbrook
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't let Veronica serve you!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Don't let Veronica serve you!! It's Mother's Day, we drive to Holbrook for a one-day trip from the Valley to surprise our mom and take her out to eat. We were a party of 13. Our waitress, Veronica wasn't friendly from the get-go, took our order but no silverwares, ignored us for 20-30 minutes NOT stopping once to check on us. A couple of our family member asked for refills twice by going up to her!! She came off as if we were a bother to her. Third time i couldn't take it and being here many times and how service USED TO BE GOOD I asked if she forgot about us- and mentioned drinks needed to be refilled and Veronica said something about the steak takes longer to cook. I said, "We didn't all order steaks. We need our drinks refilled. You haven't acknowledged us- you could have checked up on us!" And after having said this she had a mean look on her face throughout the duration of our meal. Managers didn't help, old man who didn't seem to understand what our situation was about. WHERE WAS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE?!?! She had the audacity to add gratuity when it was over- I refused to pay gratuity for LOUSY service and a waitress who was giving mean looks!! So when gratuity was taken off, she tried to add bag of chips on all our checks saying she had to keep refilling our basket with chips!!!! She lied- she didn't do that!! Management (live in the back) was called once again but nobody came over- just told the cashier to take gratuity and chips off! Not even a discount for crappy service. Ask for "Jo" instead- she is an awesome server.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    16
    13
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great late night stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the Wig Wam Motel nearby and were sent here by the desk clerk. It was fairly late at night and we were greeted warmed and promptly served very good Mexican food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hills, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We always stop here for sopapillas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

On our last stop, we had just spent 11 days in New Mexico. And where were the best sopapillas? Here at the El Rancho in Arizona! My husband had a bowl of green chile and sopapillas (super tasty!) and I had the stuffed sopapilla, which I just love. It is filled with ground beef, onions, and beans, and smothered in cheese and sauce (I had the red, which was yummy, but think I'll do the green next time. Both are flavorful, but not hot). I posted a photo so you can see the deliciousness! Get a basket or two of sopapillas (2 per basket) at the end of your meal and they'll bring you a big squeeze bottle of honey to turn them into a delectable dessert.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fine Eats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Steakhouse with an average menu. Located on the outskirts of town, it isn't hard to find. My steak was OK but not really excellent. However, best in town,

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have to tell you, this is by far the best place in town to eat breakfast. Why? They will talk to you, always smiling, and the coffee never stops. We like our coffee and after spending 2 weeks in Arizona, this is the only place that gave you all the coffee you want. Food is good too! Great service! Didn't stay at the hotel but if it is half as good as the restaurant it should be fine.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho Restaurant & Motel also viewed

 

Been to El Rancho Restaurant & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Restaurant & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.