We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jim Gray's Petrified Wood Co.

Jim Gray's Petrified Wood Co.
147 Hwy 180, Holbrook, AZ 86025
(928) 524-1842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Holbrook
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great prices on by the pound petrified wood and other rocks. Wide variety of interesting artifacts, has a little museum of rocks, great browsing, clean restrooms, cool indoor fountain/pond with fish and turtles.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downey, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Petrified everywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stopped in on our way back to Idaho. A little overwhelmed by the selection--lots and lots of it. The most interesting part was the private collection of fossils and other rocks that is displayed in the store.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Visited in Mid April 2014 and was overwhelmed by the selection of items to purchase and view in their museum. This place was better than actually visiting the Petrified Forest National Park (especially if one has kids). More to see, feel and amaze.
Staff was knowledgeable but not overly friendly, which is fine.

Anything you can think of (and want) to take home with you can be purchased here.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Got petrified wood? ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you are looking for a unique, compact and durable gift this is the place.

Everything from rough rocks to elaborate jewelry and lawn installations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best selection and best prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We started our day at Jim's and then compared selection and prices at other shops. We ended our day at Jim's making our purchases. It was amazing and educational. You should definitely put this stop on your must do list.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Gray's Petrified Wood Co. also viewed

 
Petrified Forest National Park, AZ
 

Been to Jim Gray's Petrified Wood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim Gray's Petrified Wood Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.