We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Globetrotter Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Globetrotter Lodge to your Saves list
Globetrotter Lodge
902 West Hopi Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 5 % off
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence 2014
gloucestershire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Having had a four hour drive route 66 and all that, we arrived at 11am. Very tired and very hot we were greeted by the owner. He was not at all pleasant (I will take that back later) and told us we could not book in for another 4 hours.As you may or may not know there is not 4 hours worth of things to do in Holbrook on a very hot Sunday (already having done the Painted Desert and Petrified Forest) If only he had said, you cant have your room yet but please feel free to use the pool, all would have been different. When we returned he was still very off hand but we booked in. The room was decorated beautifully. The pool area was very pleasant but by now to be honest we were not in very good moods and thought about how different the day could have been. The next morning at breakfast the owner was a completely different person. Very chatty and sociable. What a difference a day makes lol

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    84
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
88
170
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Yes, ditto on a lot of fellow traveler reviews. Retro for sure and with a lot of places closed down around it, it brings life back to route 66. The couple that own it also have future plans to open a restaurant and to create bigger rooms, suites. My only complaint would be the AC was quite loud in our room...oh, and the frig buzzed, but ear plugs took care of that. Besides that, very clean and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

As the other reviews state, this property is clean, interesting and the owners take obvious pride in their hotel. One owner showed us to our room, and the other chatted with guests at breakfast. This hotel was a welcome break from chain motels and a nice place to stay. It has a retro 60's vibe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This review summarizes my two stays in two years at the Globetrotter Inn. The owners continue to provide a clean, comfortable, and friendly home for I-40 and Route 66 travellers in Holbrook. Their artfully appointed rooms greet you with every amenity: firm beds, a walk-in shower with pristine modern fixtures, separate room with a vanity and closet, wifi Internet, cable TV, a refrigerator and coffee service, and a high-tech heating-cooling unit. You will enjoy conversation and a continental breakfast with cereal, eggs, and fresh fruit in their main building. Yearly, I review restaurants and motels in New Mexico and Arizona for a national Route 66 organization, guiding international explorers of the Mother Road to the best places to dine and to stay. In Holbrook, I stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I booked this hotel based completely on Trip Advisor reviews. But considering the low cost of the room and that it included free breakfast and wifi, I could not bring my self to believe it would be that it would live up to the good reviews.
This little gem has blown me away. The rooms are spacious, include a fridge, newly remodeled and very clean. It has old school charm for sure. If you are passing this way, you MUST stay at least one night at Globetrotter Lodge.

Room Tip: If you do not like the decorations of your room, just request a different room. Each is decorated di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have to say I was a little worried the real thing would not be as good as the pictures. It was better! The owners were gracious and the attention to detail was amazing. I kept looking for something they missed and never found anything. The breakfast was nice and tables were set for guests according to room numbers. It was a short drive from the Painted Desert and Petrified Forrest and a great stop over on our road trip to the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a nice departure from the chain hotels! This is a family run lodge that has been lovingly restored after being vacant for 10 years. Our room with a king bed was spacious, comfortable & fairly quiet considering a train runs through the city. For breakfast, a table was reserved for us with china dishes. The food was fresh, nice choice & homemade jam. In this small town, this is a great find!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Globetrotter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Lodge

Address: 902 West Hopi Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on historic Route 66,, 902 West Hopi Dr. Holbrook, AZ 86025. We have 10 cozy rooms Two King, 1 three bed room, 7 double rooms. Every room has a flat panel TV and an artistically original handmade sink. The rooms are uniquely different and individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Globetrotter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Hotel Holbrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globetrotter Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.