We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Globetrotter Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Globetrotter Lodge to your Saves list
Globetrotter Lodge
902 West Hopi Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 5 % off
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, ON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

May not necessarily stand out as anything more than a typical Any Town motel, but it is definitely much more than that! Excellent service, decor, and price. Very clean. Lovely decor with interesting antique pieces. Lovely bathroom with walk-in shower and a delightful decorative painted ceramic sink. Very fresh and clean textured painted ceiling and walls, no detectable odours, free wifi, new flat screen TV, coffee in room, mini-fridge and complimentary breakfast. Chose it because it was rated #1 on Trip Advisor for Holbrook and although i was somewhat apprehensive when we first pulled in the driveway, it actually significantly exceeded my original expectations when I made the booking!

Room Tip: We stayed in a King room (#1)...very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    84
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
88
170
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent one night here while travelling east from Las Vegas. It was great. Spotlessly clean, really comfortable, quirky decor that makes a change from the chain motel/hotels, and an easy walk to the bars and restaurants of Holbrook, there's not many! The hosts are friendly and helpful and have done a fabulous job on the place. Young's Coral is a bar in the town and probably the most lively, it does not do food but has good beer. A really nice place for a stop over.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

From the outside, Globetrotter Lodge looks like an average budget motel in a small town. Upon stepping inside, you'll find it's far more. What makes this place so cozy and unique is the hospitality of its owners, Peter and Mona, and the obvious pride they take in their establishment.

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly at the front desk. From there, Peter showed us to our room and gave us a brief tour of it, which was a pleasant, unique surprise. He was friendly and seemed sincerely interested in our comfort during our stay. The small personal touches in the room made it evident that a lot of hard work was put it to renovate the motel. From the painted sink to the little American flag sticker on the extra toilet paper roll, it was the little things that made this place stand out.

We awoke to breakfast at the front office with reserved seating for each room. How cute! The breakfast selections were simple and tasty: bagels, toast, fruit, cereal, and drink selections. In a nutshell, it was a good representation of our stay: nothing flashy (you won't find resort-type amenities or anything gaudy), but all the small personal touches (Philadelphia cream cheese, Shamrock Farms creamers) made it clear that corners are not cut here to save an extra buck. So rare to find that, especially in a small town in the middle of almost nowhere.

Thank you for such a pleasant stay, Peter and Mona. Honestly, I'll probably have no reason to visit Holbrook as a destination in the future, but I would stop there for a night as long as Globetrotter Lodge is there. We drove through the entire town and I'd have a very hard time believing that there is any better place to stay in Holbrook.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We travel twice a year from Yuma to Hudson, WI. This year we took our travel break & stayed at the Globetrotter Lodge in Holbrook. This hotel has a neat European touch...beautiful rooms, super clean & cozy with a very nice breakfast. We will stay here again and will recommend to all family & friends. Vielen Dank!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabeck, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the cleanest, best organized motel we stayed in. Felt like a flashback to the 1950's. Nice clean room, comfortable bed, and a good breakfast. Right on Route 66 and a very reasonable cost. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Made our reservation months in advance via phone...was sent confirmation via email when requested. Two double beds, non-smoking. Arrived after dark...around 8:00 p.m. Was assigned Room 2. Check-in was quick and we were shown to our room by the lady at the front desk. You use a regular door key and there is a door chain for extra security. Our room did NOT have the hand-painted sink but no worries...it was very quaint, very clean and the beds were comfortable and we slept well. The room did not have a phone, iron/ironing board, or alarm clock but did have a refrigerator, free WiFi with excellent connection, hair dryer, TV w/cable (good reception) and included a continental breakfast. The toilet/shower area is small but the sink area is spacious. There are no toiletries (i.e. lotion, shampoo, conditioner in little bottles) instead there is hand pump soap in shower and sink area. Towels and wash clothes are by the sink so don't forget to take them with you when you go to shower. Great deal for the price!

This is a family owned business and we were happy to support their efforts. They purchased the property about 4 years ago after it sat vacant for 10 years. Slowly but surely they're making headway restoring the whole property. It does have small but nice pool area (we didn't have an opportunity to enjoy it) and the hotel is a bit off the beaten path but we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it!

Breakfast consisted of breads, cereals, fruits, coffee, orange drink and each room has an assigned area in the breakfast room. The owners were very friendly and interested in making your stay an enjoyable one.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here as part of our Route 66 holiday and chose the Globetrotter because of the great reviews on here. We were not disappointed! We loved it. The room was really nice (we loved the sink and retro TV) very cleans and our bed was very comfy. We had a great nights sleep (we didn't hear the trains at all) breakfast was also a refreshing change lovely breads and homemade jams the apricot was very tasty. The guys running the place were also very friendly and our check in was super smooth. I would highly recommended staying here especially is you want a motel type experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Globetrotter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Lodge

Address: 902 West Hopi Drive, Holbrook, AZ 86025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on historic Route 66,, 902 West Hopi Dr. Holbrook, AZ 86025. We have 10 cozy rooms Two King, 1 three bed room, 7 double rooms. Every room has a flat panel TV and an artistically original handmade sink. The rooms are uniquely different and individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Globetrotter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globetrotter Hotel Holbrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globetrotter Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.