We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one-of-a-kind place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wigwam Motel to your Saves list
Wigwam Motel
811 W. Hopi Dr., Holbrook, AZ 86025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Holbrook
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A one-of-a-kind place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a unique place to stay because you are going to be sleeping in a concrete wigwam. On the premises they have old cars and trucks from the 1950s 60s and 70s. It was a nice place to stay. They only have two beds in a wigwam. This is located on the legendary route 66 and not too far from Winslow Arizona.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    213
    74
    33
    25
See reviews for
175
231
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent two nights in Holbrook. Each night was spent at the Wigwam Hotel. It is a classic place without much for frills. It was the second week in march and still chilly at night. The heater would not function correctly and I had to get up a turn it back on many times at night. The shower is something to be aware off. I was in it when my wife flushed the toilet. The water went from warm to steaming hot in just a second. There was no way to escape the hot water. The people that run the place seemed nice. Not much in Holbrook to do. The town seems to be dead but all of the I 40 area seemed to be. I would rate it as a 3 not a one. Computer would not change the rating.

Room Tip: Room 10 watch the shower. Don't know about the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was by far my favorite lodging we stayed at over our Spring Break road trip. It's not just another chain hotel. The wigwams are awesome! OK, they are a little dated, but that's part of their charm. We had two wigwams for our group. Both had good heaters and we were comfortable all night (and it was chilly outside!). The staff was very friendly and helpful. We hung out in the office sitting area for a while and it was great. There is also a nice curios room here. I didn't see a hair dryer in my wigwam, but I always travel with one so that wasn't a problem-I'm not sure if the office has one to lend or not. Trains do go by frequently, even during the night, but it didn't bother any of our sleep. There are lots of old cars and trucks on the property which are very fun and add to the nostalgia. Everyone in my group was excited that we stayed here and they always bring it up (very positively) when asked about our travels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We anticipated this stop for its distinctive architecture stands out. Staff was friendly. The units are a bit dated but fun for most. They were clean & provided quiet sleeping.

This is fun & definitely different - enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Both of our Wigwams were clean and the staff was super friendly. We slept comfortably, had plenty of room, and had everything we needed in the bathrooms. We wanted to have a fun retro experience and that was exactly what we got. Big thumbs up!

Room Tip: Our family of 4 got two separate wigwams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Everyone who wrote a bad review 1 star need to stay off the strip and continue to go to holiday inns. For the rest of us. It's what you expect. Old 66 hospitality. Had no problem at the office<~ ice here . Love the wigwam. #1 sure it wasn't built 10 years ago so it has some wear but warm and toasty inside watching tv. Not a bad side stop. The cars are cool and a few places to eat in the area!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DF
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

If your looking for luxury accommodation don't stay here. If your looking for a fun place, especially with kids, this is the place. Unlike other reviewers we found the reception staff really friendly and kind. She had our room heated on a snowy night and spent a lot of time talking with us. We had no issues with the noise (teepee 8) and slept well in our cozy wigwam.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 811 W. Hopi Dr., Holbrook, AZ 86025
Location: United States > Arizona > Holbrook
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Holbrook
#3 Family Hotel in Holbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel Holbrook
Wigwam Motel Holbrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wigwam Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.