We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buckskin Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Heber
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Buckskin Lodge
Save Saved
You added Buckskin Lodge to your Saves list
1842 Highway 260, Heber, AZ 85928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Heber
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife & I stayed here over the 4th of July for the festival at the Park in Overgaard but we mixed business & pleasure. This is a nice respite from the heat of the Valley of the Sun. It is the least expensive place in Heber-Overgaard to stay at since there isn't many choices. It is a quaint older lodge and the owners are very hospitable and sincere in their dealings. There is no air conditioning so during the hottest part of the day, stay away but it cools down at sunset and is very comfortable for night-time sleeping. They have floor fans in every room anyway and we stayed in the end unit closest to the highway but were unaffected by any noise from any traffic. We will stay here again for economic reasons but may try one of the other couple lodging choices for more romantic times. We recommend this lodge for the time of year we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

EXTREMELY CLEAN, cozy and quiet. The pillows are great! The owners can't be nicer, or more helpful. You can't tell anything from the road, but once you get into the office you start to understand the great reviews. The lodge was full, yet we never heard one sound at night or the next morning. The fridge worked perfectly. Everything worked perfectly. You will want to sit on the comfortable bench outside your room, and just enjoy the breeze going through the trees. Lovely courtyard, with very 2 large bar-b-que's to use, and picnic tables. If we are even close to Heber, we will stay here again. Oh! Be sure to look for the huge petrified logs, in the courtyard. Thanks for everything, Cheryl!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAFFORD, ARIZONA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

I fell in love with this lodge the second I walked in my room. Very clean... cozy, comfortable, and inexpensive. The owners were very sweet, and very helpful. This lodge is perfect for a solo person on business, a couple looking for a weekend getaway, or a small family.
Thank you Tim & Cheryl

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

The last time I stayed at this little hotel in Heber, AZ it was under different ownership. It was a nice little place then and the new owners are just as good. They have made nice little improvements to the property and have held on to the same level of customer service.

The only way to book a room at the Buckskin is to call them directly. If you do not get a live person, please be sure to leave a message because they will call you back as quickly as humanly possible. Unfortunately I won't be staying there this year when I go up for my yearly "Rim Country" golf outing (they are a very popular place and often fill up fast), but I will remember to make my reservations early next year.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

My partner and I stayed there last year when we couldn't get a room up the road at another hotel. The owner was friendly, accommodated our extremely late check-in and gave us a little discount because of the remodeling happening at the motel. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. We are planning on staying there again this year.

  • Liked — The friendly owner
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2005

Canyon View Motel is a convenient place to stay in Heber. It is an older motel and is less expensive than the other accomodations in the area. It is clean enough and the proprietor is friendly.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buckskin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckskin Lodge

Address: 1842 Highway 260, Heber, AZ 85928
Location: United States > Arizona > Heber
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Heber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, cozy, family owned motel in the heart of Heber on the Mogollon Rim. Within walking distance to four fine restaurants and grocery store. A short drive to numerous lakes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckskin Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;