We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noftsger Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Globe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Noftsger Hill Inn
Save
You added Noftsger Hill Inn to your Saves list
425 E. North Street, Globe, AZ 85501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Globe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I had so much fun staying at the Noftsger Hill Inn! Exploring the school, reading the chalkboard and walking to town to have dinner were all part of this exciting experience. Remember to read all the paranormal stuff about this place...but I didn't believe any of it...it just added to the excitement. Rosalie made an amazing breakfast for me. I was particularly lucky to be the only guest on a weeknight. It is worth the drive from Phoenix just to stay in this school.

Room Tip: The Kindergarten Room was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
39
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed at Noftsger recently with my wife. The B&B itself is really spectacular. It is a renovated schoolhouse with great antique furnishings and local memorabilia. You could spend an hour just walking through the B&B and looking at everything on the walls.

As a guest sleeping at this B&B, the most important thing is to bring your own pillow. The pillows on the beds were the worst ever. So, if you can bring your own pillow, this place is definitely worth it. The breakfast was pretty average for a B&B (e.g., weak coffee), but that was certainly made up for by the atmosphere.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We live in the Phx area and have occasion to come to the Globe/Miami area. Have been wanting to try this place for many years and glad we finally did. My husband's mother actually went to school here. Rosalie was very thoughtful and accommodating for our stay. The rooms are amazing, -- as many of the reviewers have described - they are refurbished classrooms - so you can imagine how large they are. The bathrooms have nice touches (dark hand towels for washing off makeup - instead of using the white; airfreshner, q-tips, blow dryer) things you won't often see in a B&B. The breakfast is generous and it is nice to breakfast with others and meet new people. We will definitely come back and stay longer next time there is an event in the area. Especially when the weather is nice and we can sit outside. The views are amazing from this vantage point. Disregard my ratings for the pool/fitness, there are neither but I couldn't uncheck. Would encourage you to walk the area - great exercise. Take a drive to Miami and eat at El Rey -- best Mexican Food around.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

On a recent trip to historic Globe, AZ for the annual historic home and building tour, I had the good fortune to snag the last available room at the delightful Noftsger Hill Inn, a beautifully restored 1907 school, turned B&B. Sitting high above historic Globe, my guest room was a converted, massive, original classroom, complete with built-in original chalk board! Go ahead, write your name on it, the teacher's not looking! Chalk is provided. Gazing at spectacular views of the town and the gorgeous mountains in the distance thru the multitude of original classroom windows made the last 100+ years melt away as I realized I was only one of many who had stood in that spot, seeing that same view. It almost made me want to hang out in my room the entire weekend, just soaking up the history, rocking in one of the rocking chairs in my room… The beds were super comfy. The bathroom, the former coat closet with some of the coat hook wood panels still there, was updated to satisfy the 21st century needs, but still maintained its air of stepping into the past with a delightful claw foot tub. The inn keepers were just lovely and considerate enough to serve a delicious breakfast early each morning to ensure that everyone had a chance to relax and breakfast at a leisurely pace and still get out the door in time for the home tour start time without feeling rushed. It was a great way to start the day. With exquisite attention to detail and customer service, it was the perfect blend of feeling pampered yet feeling like you were visiting with a dear friend. The common areas of the inn, as well as the guest rooms, are beautifully decorated with several seating areas to sit, read, visit with other guests or just contemplate your next adventure as you watch the sun rise or sun set. It's a bit too far to walk to the downtown district, but don't let that deter you if that's where you plan on spending most of your time. I was happy to discover that the parking in downtown historic Globe is not a problem, whatsoever, even on such a popular weekend, I had absolutely no problem getting in/out whenever/wherever I needed to go.

Extremely reasonably priced for the value. I will definitely return. They've been doing this for a while and it shows. It was such a kick to sleep in an old school. I'm a sucker for staying in old places so it was fun to imagine the children racing across those wooden floors, just like I know I would've if I'd gone to school there. The architecture is just beautiful and it's been lovingly restored. It's a fun place to hang out and would also be great for a family get away as some of the larger rooms have multiple beds (mine had three!) with plenty opportunities to learn about history in the surrounding areas and just admire the original architecture and old fashioned transoms, doors, windows and floors.

There's so much to do in the surrounding areas that this is a wonderful "launching off" point to see Globe and some of the surrounding areas if you are staying for more than a day or two. The only danger is that when the school bell rings and it's time to go, you'll almost be disappointment that you can't stay after class and have to go home!

Room Tip: The rooms are gigantic so look on line to see which layout would meet your needs best. However, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

2 families for 1 night and had place to ourselves . Rooms the biggest you will come across .lots of history and interesting things within this old school house . Well looked after by the owners . The breakfast was 1st class with a few different courses . We came away from this once school house with such an impression of how a guest house should be run . Would recommend to anyone .

Room Tip: Rooms we saw were all large .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I can't say anything negative about this place. The Inn Owner makes the best breakfast ever first of all and she is pretty much the sweetest lady ever. The rooms are gigantic and have very comfortable beds as well as really highly efficient gas heaters. I enjoyed sitting in the rocking chair and studying some music during my time there. There are many really cool memorabilia of the for Governor of Arizona Rose Mofford located inside the inn such as a letter from Clinton to Mofford located in the kitchen. I would definitely check this place out give the chance!

Room Tip: They are all very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I just finished a three night stay at Noftsger Hill Inn with four other colleagues as we did a tour around the Globe area for work. There is absolutely nothing I can say about this inn that is not glowing and positive in every way. The inn itself, which is a renovated school building, is a work of art. The innkeeper, Rosalie, has done a remarkable job of making this historic landmark into a warm and inviting space. So much thought and consideration put into every decoration, all of which have obviously been painstakingly collected throughout the life of the inn. Rosalie herself should be the pristine model for every innkeeper. A smile on her face during every encounter, a DELICIOUS breakfast prepared by her own hands every morning (she even checked with us months prior to our stay to see if anyone in our group had any food allergies that she should be aware of), our rooms well taken care of and straightened up each time we left for the day. Just an absolute delight and the epitome of hospitality. What a beautiful thing this couple has done for the community of Globe! I could go on and on, but suffice to say that if you are in the area, or looking for a place to get away for a weekend and be in a town where you can see the stars at night and feel absolutely welcome your entire stay, this is a place worth considering. Thank you, Rosalie, for such a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms were at one time classrooms so they are HUGE! This inn would be perfect for groups, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Noftsger Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noftsger Hill Inn

Address: 425 E. North Street, Globe, AZ 85501
Location: United States > Arizona > Globe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Globe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest rooms, which were elementary school classrooms in a previous era, are unusually spacious, each with a sitting area and private bathroom. Original chalkboards in the guest rooms are "decorated" with comments from past guests. The front rooms provide a panoramic view of the ruggedly beautiful Pinal Mountains. Rear rooms face the old Dominion mine, offering a picturesque view of historic mining operations. Generations of successful Arizonans were educated here, including Rose Mofford, former governor of Arizona. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noftsger Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.