We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15249 North 59th Avenue, Glendale, AZ   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2 get 3rd free
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Glendale
Houston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Thunderbird Inn when we went to the Fiesta Bowl. It was very convenient to the University of Phoenix Stadium where the game was held (about 20 minutes away.) We also went to other locations around the Phoenix area, and it was convenient to use the 101 Interstate nearby. The rooms were very clean, and the staff was extremely helpful. Free snacks were available in the lounge area all the time, and free computers and a printer were available. The best part of all was the reasonable price that included all these amenities. The Inn is on the campus of the Thunderbird Graduate School of Global Management. We would not have known about this great place if we had not looked on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: We stayed in 325, across the driveway from the office and lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our Glendale, AZ location. We're thrilled that you found the Thunderbird Executive Inn to be convenient to the stadium, and nearby shopping and dining with the added value of our complimentary lounge, we agree our hotel is great option if traveling to the West Valley for business or leisure. Our associates take pride in delivering expectional customer service and provding a clean and comfortable hotel room for every visitor. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    20
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
20
12
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chinle, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

NO PARKING.IMPOSSIBLE to find .POOR VALUE . Better vslue at motel 6 . Would not send an enemy here. Poor services.requires you to give email address to use wifi. No list of restaurants that deliver.sent use wrong direction for room and parking.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We're very sorry to hear about your experience with our hotel during your recent stay in Glendale. We strive to accommodate our all of our guests and their needs, and I am disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered with parking and directions. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention, so that we can continuously improve our hotel and service. We hope that you will re-consider and try our location again in the future, if you do, your next overnight stay will be on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I will stay here again and again! What a great place to stay! The hotel is on the Graduate School campus which was interesting. I stayed in one of the king rooms which had been redesigned recently. It was great. The shower was massive! It was so quiet, I slept well. There was plenty of water available to keep you hydrated and there was a great variety of free snacks and food for on the go. The pool was nice...big...popular at night because during the day the heat was a bit intense and there was no shade anywhere near the pool. You can't beat the price and it was definitely a great value. The staff was so wonderful! From the front desk to housekeeping. I would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer king rooms rather than a double. Doubles are more like barracks, though lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the "Amazing" review! We truly value our customers' feedback and appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay. We're pleased that you found your guest room to be comfortable and spacious and that the staff you encountered were exceptional. We pride ourselves in providing a memorable experience for our guests each and every day! We are glad to hear that you will be back again and again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dxb
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here in early June 2013 for 2 weeks including a weekend for an executive education program at the Thunderbird academy. I am not familiar with the quality of accommodation in this area, but the rooms were pretty clean and standard. Nothing fancy and the rooms in the main building near the reception was slightly better and certainly convenient for long stays and for people with disabilities. The rooms in the third and fourth blocks were really far from the reception and the walk during summer months are really horrible. After a one week, I decided to ask the receptionist for a change of room to the main building and they obliged. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is plenty of parking space and I would recommend renting a car as this place is pretty far from Scottsdale town centre and there is nothing to do here. The campus has a pub which is pretty good, but serves the same pub food every day. They close at 8 pm and the other option is to visit the self service cafeteria for soft drinks, tea, coffee, snacks and chips which is open 24 hours. They also serve a very lean breakfast on the weekends at the same place. Arizona heat is very dry and unbearable but they have stacks of complimentary water bottles at the receptions at all times.

The reception can also help organize day trips to grand canyon and several other local attractions. I took a flight to grand canyon from the deer valley airport on an 8 seater plane, and it cost me around $600 including a helicopter ride to the Colorado river basin.

Room Tip: ask in advance for a room closer to the reception in the main building if you are alone as the remot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in June. We're thrilled you found our hotel to be "first-class". Our location on the campus of Thunderbird School of Global Management is a unique hotel setting with the amenities and services of a resort. Providing top-notch service is our priority. Whether traveling to Glendale on business or leisure purposes, The Thunderbird Executive Inn provides a comfortable guest room and superior service to make any visit a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in August - got a great deal on line. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, ample snacks, water and coffee/juices available. We were told that breakfast is not included but there was an eating area - good quality juices, snacks, quick soups. All good quality stuff and was continually stocked. Cereals and snacks also available for breakfast. Nice quite location even though it is on a school campus - nice grounds with pool. will definately stay here again if i travel out there.
Rooms were well appointed, clean, well equipped

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We enjoy receiving customer feedback and appreciate the time you took to share your experience while visiting the Thunderbird Executive Inn. Our location, on the campus of the Thunderbird School of Global Management, offers a resort-like experience with a quiet atmosphere, ample amenities, and spacious guest rooms. Providing a memorable service experience is our top priority and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit when traveling to Glendale again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Perhaps you, too, have elderly relatives living in the West Valley and need a place to stay while you're checking in on them? This is a basic, affordable, quiet and comfortable hotel and though I'm usually traveling by myself, I have always felt safe here. Even during the less busy times, there are people (hotel guests, employees) around but it's not a "party until dawn" sort of atmosphere. Often there are (adult) students around and a sense that something interesting is going on here. The front desk staff couldn't be nicer and have been very helpful and kind to me and to my friends and family. They are the best.

Tips: Yes, they have computers and a printer you can use and they are right next to the snack and drink bar. They now have fresh small containers of juice along with the power drinks and so forth and I appreciate that they always have good tea and some fruit here and at the front desk. Ask how to access the wifi. Sometimes reception is better in the central lounge/snack bar area. Do check out the campus pub as they have good burgers (even veggie burgers) and a nice selection of beer. Lingering later in your room in the morning might mean that your room is made up later in the afternoon. You'll also miss the best time of the day here, as morning is a great time to walk over into the campus.

And yes, they still have free copies of the New York Times, Arizona Republic and other papers available every single day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Your opinion matters to us, and we are thrilled that you see the Thunderbird Executive Inn as a "lifesaver". We pride ourselves in providing the right atmosphere, both quiet and clean, while delivering best in class customer service, so that you can have a place to relax while visiting your family in town! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We look forward to the next visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice, clean place to stay. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The only problem is there are no microwaves in the rooms so you have to walk to the main building to use one. They have snack items avail all day if needed.

Room Tip: I did not use the fitness center. Rooms with an outside entry have a higher noise volume from the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Thunderbird Executive Inn for your recent visit to Glendale, AZ. Providing our guests with the right amenities to make your stay both enjoyable and comfortable is always our top priority and goal. Thank you for your suggestion on adding microwaves to the guest rooms, as we look to renovate and improve our facilities, we will definitely keep this in mind. In addition, we're glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and your comments make it all worthwhile. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center

Address: 15249 North 59th Avenue, Glendale, AZ
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Glendale
#2 Business Hotel in Glendale
#5 Family Hotel in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Executive Inn is located in Glendale, Arizona; on the campus of the Thunderbird School of Global Management. This Hidden Gem will surprise and delight you with its upscale guest rooms, 24 hr complimentary snack lounge, and unique diversions such as the Thunderbird Pub; located in an historic military airfield control tower.With proximity to Arizona’s Spring Training baseball and the University of Phoenix Stadium, the Thunderbird Executive Inn is the perfect hotel for leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Executive Hotel Glendale
Thunderbird Executive Inn And Conference Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.