We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Quiet Convenient Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15249 North 59th Avenue, Glendale, AZ   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Glendale
Marysville, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Enjoy Quiet Convenient Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Thunderbird Executive Inn enjoys a unique location, as it is located on the campus of the Thunderbird Global Management School.
The rooms are adequate size with desk and upholstered chair in a king bed room.
The bedding and mattress are superior quality. Because of the campus location there are restaurant facilities on the campus.
The front desk staff were efficient, friendly and able to answer questions about the area.
A real bonus is the lounge and food bar located on the second level. This area was always stocked with cereal in the morning, apples, choice of snack bars, trail mix and a refrigerator loaded with water, juices, sodas and milk. Soups were added for evening. Coffee, tea and cocoa were out all day.
Several computers and a printer were accessible to all.
The location is convenient to Peoria, downtown Phoenix and Glendale.
I would recommend this for anyone looking for quiet and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Delivering exceptional customer service and providing a clean and comfortable guest room is our main concern. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and campus. The complimentary 2nd floor lounge with snacks and drinks, and access to the business center, both available 24 hours a day, make our hotel enjoyable and convenient. Thank you for your sincere recommendation, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    20
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
20
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I love this place, but I am a bit of a history buff. The first time I arrived here and saw the WWII airplane hanger I knew it was going to be an interesting place to stay. Every room is furnished with a book outlining the history of this property during it's air park days. The landscaping is a work of art, just walking around the grounds is so calming. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Showers are big and clean. Dona and Sandy were great help in finding some rooms for us that opened up on the beautiful landscaped grounds. Guest computers and printers are reliable and great place to print out your work or boarding pass. Wifi was easy to log on, they had a few ports blocked for some reason. Arrowhead mall is 10 minutes away with any kind of restaurant you desire. Good location if you are working in West Phoenix or Glendale. Parking was a little tight, but you get use to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
The Thunderbird Executive Inn is located on the Thunderbird School of Global Management campus which, as you mentioned, has a rich history dating back to WWII. The campus grounds, once known as Thunderbird Field was the training site for British, Canadian, and Chinese fighter pilots. The original air traffic control tower and airplane hanger remain on the campus today. This history makes our hotel and campus a unique experience, whether on a business trip or leisure vacation we suggest you take time to walk the campus grounds and also enjoy the many photos showcasing its history. We're delighted you enjoyed Thunderbird and our quiet grounds. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great spot to stay in the greater Phoenix area! The staff are very professional and extremely courteous. Our travel agent screwed up our dates by a month and we didn't have any reservation when we arrived. The team of two at the front desk quickly found a room for less money than the original booking. The recently remodeled rooms have a large walk in shower with a rainfall head...very nice! The snack room on the second floor was well stocked with goodies both healthy and not, for whatever you're in the mood for. The bed was comfortable and the room was decent sized (didn't feel cramped). The only negative was the shortage of parking close to the rooms, so you'll probably have to walk a little to your room. Overall, great stay for a great price!

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Thunderbird on your recent trip to Phoenix. We were happy to be able to accommodate your reservation and make your recent stay so enjoyable.

Our renovated guest room bathrooms and 2nd floor lounge are just a few of the many amenities you can enjoy while staying at Thunderbird. Our newly renovated rooms have a large walk-in shower with rainfall shower head and upgraded bathroom amenties. The 2nd floor lounge offers a wide variety of breakfast items and afternoon snacks to make your stay more pleasant. Thank you for your admiring comments. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about the Thunderbird because the price seemed a bit too reasonable for the Cactus League baseball season, but we were happy we gave it a try. The location is good, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the amenities are excellent and the staff is great. When I asked a staff member about a German restaurant whose name I had forgotten, he knew it, and when I next passed the desk, he called me over and gave me information about the restaurant and directions. The people manning the desk (where there are always candy bars and apples) were always friendly and helpful. The upstairs lounge is stocked 24 hours with coffee, tea, cereals, etc in the morning, instant soups, energy bars, trail mix, cookies, chips, etc all the time, and a refrigerator full of soft drinks, fruit drinks and milk, always replenished and full - and included in the room price! The only negative I found was that although the room was relatively large, the shower was tiny (albeit it had a fold-up shower head to give more room).
Great place - quiet, close to Bell Road (but not too close) and freeways, comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for giving the Thunderbird Executive Inn a try, on your recent trip to Arizona. Our location in Glendale, is close to Arrowhead and within driving distance to many Spring Training facilities, making our location both convenient and easy to travel to/from. We're glad you also found that to be the case.

Our associates take pride in delivering a customized customer service experience and providing information and directions to the local German restaurant you had previously discussed, is one way that we do just that. We appreciate that you found our location and staff to be super! We look forward to your return visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Highly recommend this property. This was my second stay at Thunderbird, and most all of the other positive reviews are accurate. If you're looking for a great, clean hotel similar to a Holiday Inn Express etc,, in a good central area of Phoenix at a VERY reasonable rate...this one's it. Customer service is excellent, the desk staff is helpful in booking restaurant reservations and providing information. The on-site Pub and Dining Room are very reasonably priced, good food and a diverse international business crowd. The Rooms are not especially large, but well appointed, very clean and comfortable beds. Free wi-fi, in-room refrigerator, business center and their stocked hospitality suite are major benefits for business travelers. If you require your car to be parked within visual distance of your room, that's the only thing missing (on occasion). If you want a Phoenix resort property, with the resort fees and amenities, best look elsewhere. Everyone else, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building offer more assurances for single female travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the compliments on our your recent stay at Thunderbird. Providing a clean and comfortable room and ensuring that you have a memorable experience on our campus is very important to us. We're thrilled you chose to stay at Thunderbird for the second time, and look forward to seeing you again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel prices in the Glendale area during Spring Training seems to be astronomical so I hesitated for a second when the price for this place came up....it seemed way too low.

This is a great place! The Thunderbird team was great upon arrival and it took maybe 2 minutes to check in. As mentioned on other reviews, the Inn is located on the campus of the Thunderbird School of Global Managment....a school I have never heard of. The location is a little hard to find but the initial drive around the campus gave us a little tour of the school. For the most part, when you enter the campus off of 59th, make a left on the first driveway. Drive about 5 minutes and you'll see it across from the Interfaith Building.

The Inn is a main building (inside rooms) with a few outside buildings (outside rooms). It really didn't matter as the place is incredibly quiet. There were NO kids anywhere....just folks there for various reasons such as meetings, business retreats, or school visitors. The main building has a 24/7 area where food, drinks, and computers are available. A fully stocked fridge, coffee, fruit, cereals, tea, milk, etc.... Adjacent to the room is a lounge with a TV and pool table.

The rooms are spartan. Very monochromatic (tans)....even the historical photos are B/W. A nice touch, there is a complimentary book showcasing the history of the School....VERY interesting!!! Actually....the book is not complimentary but you may purchase your own copy.

Cons.....parking is limited. If you get there too late in the evening the spots are all filled. You would have to park at the adjacent Interfaith Building parking lot....only a 1 minute walk further.

Pros....the campus has a Pub ! We went there one night and the place had a number of students there. Full bar and restaurant open till midnight.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Thunderbird Executive Inn. Providing exceptional service to every guest, with every interaction, and every time is what makes our service top notch. Our location is unique and a point of differentiation in the Phoenix area. Having a resort-like campus allows us to provide our guests with a quiet, relaxed, and comfortable environment while away from home. Parking can be found within a 1 - 2 minute walk adjacent to the main hotel building and near the outside hotel buildings. The Pub opened in November 2011 and is located in the original air traffic control building utilized during World War II, a great part of the history of the school. We' re glad you had the opportunity to experience the Pub and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I would not recommend this place for leisure travelers. It is located on the campus of the Thunderbird graduate school for management, and many of the people staying at the inn were in a management training program. The buildings and rooms were clean and functional, but very basic. While some rooms faced onto landscaped areas, some faced the street with little decor. The staff were courteous and helpful; but housekeeping staff showed up to clean my room after 3 pm the first day, and the next morning (Sunday) knocked on my door before 8 am (!) waking me up. The overall atmosphere reflected people there for training or business; not for recreation or leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street(s), with landscaping
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti D, General Manager at Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel on your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations as we strive to not only meet, but exceed our guests expectations every day. We pride ourselves on a hotel environment that is relaxed and comfortable. Both leisure and business guests benefit from our complimentary pantry area and exceptional service from all of our associates. We do hope you will try us again sometime, and see why other guests have found our hotel to be a great hotel for leisure travel in the West Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center

Address: 15249 North 59th Avenue, Glendale, AZ
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Glendale
#3 Business Hotel in Glendale
#4 Family Hotel in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunderbird Executive Inn is located in Glendale, Arizona; on the campus of the Thunderbird School of Global Management. This Hidden Gem will surprise and delight you with its upscale guest rooms, 24 hr complimentary snack lounge, and unique diversions such as the Thunderbird Pub; located in an historic military airfield control tower.With proximity to Arizona’s Spring Training baseball and the University of Phoenix Stadium, the Thunderbird Executive Inn is the perfect hotel for leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Executive Inn And Conference Center
Thunderbird Executive Hotel Glendale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Executive Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.