We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wet 'n' Wild Phoenix

Wet 'n' Wild Phoenix
4243 W. Pinnacle Peak Road, Glendale, AZ 85310
+1 623-201-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 22 attractions in Glendale
Type: Water Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Wet ‘n’ Wild Phoenix is Arizona’s biggest ‘n’ best water park. Located on Pinnacle Peak Road near I-17, the park features more than 30 thrilling attractions for everyone in the family, including the world’s first Maximum Velocity – Dueling H2O Coasters. For more information, visit our website.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited on the first Saturday in April, so the park was not quite half full. We also made certain to check for discounts, and took advantage of bringing a case of water for half-off admission for the weekend we visited.

The park was very clean, and once inside, looked bright and up-kept (it looks a little faded from the road - but with AZ's bright sun, you have to expect it!) Line were never more than 20 minutes, and then only for the larger rides (like I said, we visited early in the season.) Lifeguards were very attentive and rotated - vital for keeping people safe. Water was absolutely frigid being early in the season, but as it was 90 degrees the kids took it in stride.

A few hints - we got there 30 minutes before the park opened. When we got in we snagged 3 deck chairs, and simply kept our stuff under one of the chairs (bottles of water, clothes to change into, one car key, nothing else.) We also ate right before we went in, as they are pretty expensive and the food is like what you get in a movie theater - overpriced and not high quality (we had nachos and chorros for a snack.) By saving a locker fee and most beverage costs (the kids each downed two bottles of water) PLUS the admission discount, I felt we got much more than we paid for. Had we paid full price & not been prepared, I would have ranked it a 3 - $38.95 is pretty pricey for what you get. Any discount that gets you in around $30 is very fair:)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    38
    22
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Poorly Run Water Park”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I have been to numerous water parks througout the west coast and Wet 'n"
Wild-Phoenix finished far behind any that we have attended. First, my kids are ages 9 and 6 and the younger was only 44 inches tall so she was very limited to ride any of the "Big" attractions.

We went to the park on March 28, 2013 and we choose this date because the Phoenix schools were not out for Spring Break so we figured attendance would be a little lower. We were right because the park was only about half full which made it nice for finding a chair to set up for the day but that is where to good stopped at.

We waited in line to purchase tickets for enty for over an hour. When we got to front of the line I realized why the wait was so long, only two of the four stations were open for peolple to purchase tickets. I asked the young lady at the window why the other two stations were not open and she said they were reserved for season ticket holders to purchase their tickets. Well, this would have been a great idea if the lines for season ticket holders was long also but no one was using those lines because the majority of season ticket holders are from the Phoenix area and they were all in school.

I wouldn't want to be at this park on a day when its busy because it is so poorly ran that lines were still a 45-minute wait with the park only half full. It appeared the park is ran by kids ranging from 16-20 that really don't care about being effecient. Numerous times we observed the ride operators standing and talking for several minutes with no customers on the rides or even being prepared for starting the ride. Park employees seemed like they didnt care if the customers were having a good time. The employees were not movitvated, didnt seem to understand their job is to move people in an effecient manner so customers could get in as many rides as possible.

The rides were not the only problem at this park, food preperation and customer service were severely lacking. We lunch at the park because they do not allow outside food or drink. The restaurant had three choices, chicken meals, pizza or burgers basically. Most patrons were choosing the burgers and hot dog section. The "KIDS" that were running this station must have been worried about making to many burgers because they would only make a new burger as a person ordered one. The line for burgers had 50-60 people waiting so there was no reason not to throw 20 patties on the grill and keep replacing them, instead they had 6 or 7 which caused another long wait for service at this park.

By end of the day for a family of 4 we spent over $200 to ride 6 water slides and have three cheese burgers. For value, fun and overal experience Wet 'n' Wild Phoenix was a complete disapointment.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“$$$$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Way too much money for what you get both rides and food. Lines are too long and children get tired of waiting.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too busy!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Very inefficient. Be forewarned: get your tickets on line and print them up at home. We had to line up for an hour to get in. Once in, we lined up again to get our reserved cabana, a hot little tent. Everywhere there were huge lineups for the slides. Places like the wave pool and lazy river were not open to the public. Food was of low quality and expensive. The whole time we were there loud music boomed around us. I would never go back. But then, I'm not 10 years old. The cabana lady who served us was lovely! We were a group of three adults and four kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roach, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fun park, kinda pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Really fun park, lot of stuff for the whole family but can get expensive fast. A word of warning as well, make sure you bring sandals as the cement turns to lava and burns your feet in the summer going from ride to ride. I had to buy $30 sandals to enjoy myself there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet 'n' Wild Phoenix also viewed

Glendale, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 
Glendale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Wet 'n' Wild Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wet 'n' Wild Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wet 'n' Wild Phoenix to your Saves list