We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place Has A Monopoly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge
401 East Pima Street, Box C, Gila Bend, AZ 85337   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gila Bend
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“The Place Has A Monopoly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've stayed here numerous times over the years on the way back and forth from Tucson, Arizona to southern California. And that's why everybody either stays here, stops here, or eats here. It's about the only place in the small town of Gila Bend to do any of the above. It's one hundred sixteen miles from Tucson and another hundred plus from Yuma. The rooms are costly for what you get. In May of 2012 it cost $152.52 fpr one room. But then you don't have any other choice. The space age theme in the restaurant is entertaining, but the food is very basic, and the service isn't consistent and can be very slow. They still have box air-conditioner units high up on the wall. At least they work. It's also nice that the place is 100% pet-friendly.

Room Tip: They're all on the ground floor. But the best rooms are closest to the check-in desk. They'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff here at Space Age we would like to send our apology for not meeting your expectations. We will take your comments/concerns into consideration to help us improve great customer service. We hope you will give us another chance to better serve you. If you have any questions or concerns feel free to contact us @ 928-683-2273 or email: 03004@hotel.bestwestern.com



Sincerly,
Salena Cipriano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    37
    31
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
34
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean place, great pillow top mattresses and nice comfy sheets on the beds.
Nice larger NEWER FLAT SCREEN HIGH DEF TV's a big plus at this hotel as well.

Hotel is close to train tracks but not that bad.....take some ear plugs......I always do regardless of where the
The hotel is located and regardless of city it is located in.

The hotel restaurant also Very decent Cafe type of place.

I would def stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
On behalf of the enitre team, we would like to thank you for your comments, We are pleased to hear your visit with us is a memorable one. Hope to see you again in the future.

Salena Cipriano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's a cute little motel with a space-age theme and located in an area with very few other lodging options, but the train tracks are so close that it sounds and feels like the train is running right through your room. The included breakfast in the adjacent restaurant is a good value.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at Space Age would like to thank you for your comments and concerns. Your are helping us provide great customer service by letting us know how we can make improvements. We hope we will visit us again soon. If you have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to call @ 928-683-2273 or email: 03004@hotel.bestwestern.com


Sincerly,
Salena Cipriano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Room was comfortable, beds especially. Ask for a room not right on the tracks as trains come through regularly. We bought ear plugs at nearby Dollar store and so, were fine! Cooked to order breakfast was a real treat.

Room Tip: Away from train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment you see the property the Space theme is readily apparent. The lobby roof is shaped like a flying saucer and the inside is decorated with space pictures and murals. The rooms are comfortable and decorated again in a space theme. The service was outstanding as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good as this lodge is on one level and most rooms face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was built in 1964,the rooms are small but very clean, showers work ok has flat screen TV. The maids will do your laundry, there is no laundry mat in the town and no grocery stores either. The restaurant attached to the hotel is ok but the menu is very short and not very imaginative. Bring your books playstation or whatever because there is nothing to do here.
The only gripe I have with this motel are the rates. they are very jacked up for what you are getting and there is no weekly rate for construction workers even though that is mostly who is staying there. I was told that why should I care my company is paying for it, thats not the case but you can't convince them otherwise, if there were any other place to stay that was even remotely clean I would be there, but the other motels appear to be almost in ruins they are so decrepit. there is a Burger King in Gila Bend and a Mcdonalds Thats it.......

Room Tip: All rooms face the highway with a train track behind the building, a train goes by approximately eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Room was clean, service was good. Average size room, internet worked good. Train does come buy but I was so tired it never woke me up. Room was $130 for three people, with a $10 dollar per person coupon to their restaurant. Restaurant is clean, service was friendly, but the food was terrible. How do you screw up an ommlette and hash browns? By putting cutting up sandwich slices of ham in it insteads of nice size chuncks. The hashbrowns were so greasy none of us could eat them, and I love hash browns. Avoid eating there even though it's free!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
DEAR WSCHWARZ,

On behalf of the entire staff here at the Best Western Space Age lodge/Restaurant sincerly apologize for not exceeding your expectations for breakfast. We will be taking your comments into consideration to help us improve our establishment.


Sincerly,
Salena Cipriano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge

Address: 401 East Pima Street, Box C, Gila Bend, AZ 85337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Gila Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gila Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Space Age Hotel Gila Bend
Best Western Gila Bend
Gila Bend Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.