We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but really close to train tracks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge
401 East Pima Street, Box C, Gila Bend, AZ 85337   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Gila Bend
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Cute but really close to train tracks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Room was comfortable, beds especially. Ask for a room not right on the tracks as trains come through regularly. We bought ear plugs at nearby Dollar store and so, were fine! Cooked to order breakfast was a real treat.

Room Tip: Away from train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
28
23
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment you see the property the Space theme is readily apparent. The lobby roof is shaped like a flying saucer and the inside is decorated with space pictures and murals. The rooms are comfortable and decorated again in a space theme. The service was outstanding as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good as this lodge is on one level and most rooms face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was built in 1964,the rooms are small but very clean, showers work ok has flat screen TV. The maids will do your laundry, there is no laundry mat in the town and no grocery stores either. The restaurant attached to the hotel is ok but the menu is very short and not very imaginative. Bring your books playstation or whatever because there is nothing to do here.
The only gripe I have with this motel are the rates. they are very jacked up for what you are getting and there is no weekly rate for construction workers even though that is mostly who is staying there. I was told that why should I care my company is paying for it, thats not the case but you can't convince them otherwise, if there were any other place to stay that was even remotely clean I would be there, but the other motels appear to be almost in ruins they are so decrepit. there is a Burger King in Gila Bend and a Mcdonalds Thats it.......

Room Tip: All rooms face the highway with a train track behind the building, a train goes by approximately eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Room was clean, service was good. Average size room, internet worked good. Train does come buy but I was so tired it never woke me up. Room was $130 for three people, with a $10 dollar per person coupon to their restaurant. Restaurant is clean, service was friendly, but the food was terrible. How do you screw up an ommlette and hash browns? By putting cutting up sandwich slices of ham in it insteads of nice size chuncks. The hashbrowns were so greasy none of us could eat them, and I love hash browns. Avoid eating there even though it's free!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
DEAR WSCHWARZ,

On behalf of the entire staff here at the Best Western Space Age lodge/Restaurant sincerly apologize for not exceeding your expectations for breakfast. We will be taking your comments into consideration to help us improve our establishment.


Sincerly,
Salena Cipriano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Getting off the freeway I was a bit uncertain, but the drive had been long and we really needed to stop for the night. What a great surprise! The hotel was very quirky and fun, the room was clean and very inviting. There is a train in back, but even a light sleeper like me was able to sleep through it. And sleep well I did - the bed was extremely comfortable.

We had breakfast next door at the restaurant and it was a blast! The waitress said that the chef had worked there many years - which was obvious by the care he put into the food. The coffee was fresh and hot. I had the flying saucer pancakes and (shhhhhhhh!) they were even better than the ones dad used to make on Sunday mornings! The eggs were cooked to perfection.

The whole experience was fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Found this place via Tripadvisor and thought I'd give it a whirl. Really glad I did. Rooms very clean, comfortable and spacious. The only downside were a few flies, which is just part of this area of the State - and nothing a quick whack with a swatter (provided) didn't put right.

Great value for the level of comfort, and $10 vouhers per person provided for breakfast in the Space Age Restaurant next door - ample for a filling breakfast, freshly cooked, and with no $$ to pay on top. Far better than any breakfast I've had at a Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn.

Give it a whirl, you wont be disappointed.

Lovely staff too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole F, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff we would like to thank you for your great review. By your review you are helping us provide great customer service for our future guest. Once again thank you for your ratings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Interesting place. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the beds pretty comfy. Parking right outside the door. It is hot in July in Gila Bend! be prepared. The room did eventually cool down but the unit had just been on fan not cool when we walked in. I would call ahead to ask that the AC is turned on when you arrive They allow dogs. It is close to a busy road but I thought the noise level was minimal. I like the sound of trains and have riden Amtrak. The food was not great, but the dining area is clean and has a unique appearance. Breakfast was better than dinner and free up to I think $10.00. If I were traveling through Gila Bend again I would stay here again. I would probably check out other places to eat dinner though, we got in late and I am sure that other places were already closed. It is always nice to stay at a place with that convenience. We did not use the pool but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Ask for one with the newer AC unit and ask for it be turned on an hour before your arrival. It was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge

Address: 401 East Pima Street, Box C, Gila Bend, AZ 85337
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Gila Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Gila Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Space Age Hotel Gila Bend
Best Western Gila Bend
Gila Bend Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.