We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's Filling Station Grill

Phil's Filling Station Grill
16852 E Parkview Ave, Ste 2, Fountain Hills, AZ 85268-8440
480-816-8200
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have had lunch at Phil's on two occasions and have not been impressed. The service was terribly slow and our sandwiches were bland and uninteresting. The atmosphere is kind of fun, with many old car/travel related pictures on the walls.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“1st visit - not memorable; Pros and Cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We live in town here. This was our first visit. We were just looking for a burger as we were'nt all the hungry and wanted to give this place a try. We sat outside..... table was flimsy and the plastic chairs worn out. The menu was more extensive than we expected... breakfast took up a page; burgers another page; and entrees on the back. Most burgers (claimed to be "gourmet") were 1/2 lb and priced circa $10. We just split a BBQ pork sandwich at $8 and paid $1.25 to upgrade the side to "onion rings". The sandwich was just barely average (nothing we'd order again) and we got a total of 4 onion rings... (so much for the upgrade, eh). The service was very good. Our diet cokes were priced pretty strongly at $2.50 each. Bottomline, one BBQ sandwich, onion rings and two diet cokes were $14.00 before tax... so add in tax and a tip and it's pretty pricey all around. Breakfast looked to be about $10 for most all items. Seems like a nice, clean place with nice people.. but I'm not sure we'll rush back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always a great time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have been going to Phil's for years. Have never had anything but a great experience. Food is excellent for the money and cant be beat in Fountain Hills.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cute Diner with lots of Coke memorabilia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is a really cute diner with lots of coke memorabilia. Host not friendly, but waitress was very good. Breakfast options huge and your typical choices. Serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and also have good happy hour prices listed on menu. They offer International themed specials each day such as German, Italian. Would of enjoyed eating dinner here. Friends went back and said the Margaritas are very good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't eat there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We had prime rib there. It was the worst. If taste it like they cooked it the day before and could not sell it and reserve it to us. Would not eat there again.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Filling Station Grill also viewed

Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
 
Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phil's Filling Station Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phil's Filling Station Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.