We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ft. Apache and Kinishba Ruins..worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinishba Ruins and Fort Apache Museum

Kinishba Ruins and Fort Apache Museum
Fort Apache Indian Reservation, Near Canyon Day, Fort Apache, AZ
(928) 338-4625
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ft. Apache and Kinishba Ruins..worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Having grown up in the era of cowboys and indians Ft Apache was long on my list of stops to make in Arizona. Only 25 miles from Pinetop and Showlow the fort features a museum and several buildings dating to the 1870's. Only 2 are open..General Crooks cabin and the later Commanding officers home. Still standing but oterwise in use are dormitories , the T Roosevelt School and old guardhouse. You can feel history here.

Located nearby and even more amazing are the Kinishba ruins. Dating to 800 AD these pueblo style ruins were rebuilt in the 1930's but have again fallen to ruins. The walking tour with guidebook from the Ft Apache museum tell the story...

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
192 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Museum is worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

We enjoyed looking at the museum and learned a lot about the people of this area. The video was great and the staff wanted to share their knowledge. The ruins were interesting but the road out is dirt and a little bumpy but still it is only two miles so worth it in the end.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“This place could use a savior”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

During a recent trip into the White Mountains, my brother and I toured Fort Apache and the Kinishba Ruins.

For an entry fee of $5 per person, The "Fort" and the Nohwike' Bagowa Museum weren't too bad. However, the museum was pretty tiny, and with only one building on the fort property open for touring, it was a rather quick visit and somewhat disappointing. The other buildings had photos on plaques out front showing how they looking during the 1800's and what they were used for. It sure would have been nice to take a look inside. Especially the Commanding Officers house and the dormitories, used in the 1930's.

We also paid a quick visit to the local cemetary, but there really isn't much to see. The headstones are too simple to be of much interest.

Then we headed to the Kinishba Ruins. I was really hopeful. I had seen the restored ruins at places like Wupatki and Tuzigoot and was really amazed. The photos on the Visitor Guide for Kinishba were from the 1940's and looked really promising. Unfortunately, we were in for a big disappointment. The ruins, once the pride and joy of Dr. Dean Cummings and apparently, the Apache people, have fallen into a terrible state of disrepair, so as to be barely recognizable.

I feel terrible about this. The ruins at Wupatki and Tuzigoot, managed by the US Forest Service, are extremely well maintained. These properties, managed by the White Mountain Apache, by contrast aren't very good. One can only hope that with some outside investment and involvement, these properties could be lifted up and reflect the proud heritage of the Apache people.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Museum closed - frustrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Read the websit which said they were open 7-5 every day of the week. Unfortunately when we got there the museum said 8-5 M-F. It was Sunday. We had even tried to call before we left, but their 24 hour info line was down. We were still able to go around both the Fort Apache and Kinishba areas, but we were really wishing for the tour as people said it was really good. We still saw some great stuff but I doubt we got 1/10th the info that we could have.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Both sites are good walking tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Fort Apache walking tour was very neat. The guide (which has to be purchased) is very informative. We did every part and learned a lot of history. Don't forget to do the buildings on the other side of the road and the cemetery. The ruins are a further drive outside of town. They are beautiful, but it is helpful to do some reading on their backstory before seeing the sight. Readings will explain why they were reconstructed they way they were and why they are in the current state. Unfortunately, the trail guides don't talk much about this.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinishba Ruins and Fort Apache Museum also viewed

 
Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ

Been to Kinishba Ruins and Fort Apache Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinishba Ruins and Fort Apache Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.