My husband and I have been driving cross country, we encountered a very rough storm and was given word that there was another thunder/lightning storm in our destination. We decided for safety to pull over and stay at a super 8. Since this hotel was under "Wyndham" we felt that it would be appropriate conditions.
Check in was rough, the card did not work to the door, and the front desk associate told us the wrong directions to our room! We had to go back to the office twice to have her rescan the card, finally after the 3rd time I asked for a new card, and then we were able to get into our room.
We walked into the room and there was a moth by the light. okay it's near off the side of the high way we'll let it go. We were in the room for an hour and 15 minutes.
the air conditioner didn't work
there were 4 flies zipping around, and then we discovered what was either a small cock-roach or a large bed bug in the room
I went to the office to check out. The clerk stated that bugs are normal and if it was "a little brown one it was a water bug" and I "Shouldn't be concerned" I then asked for a refund and was told "you've been in the room for over an hour so I can't do anything, but the manager will be in at 1 am and he will contact you for a refund"
This was on Sunday night, I've yet to hear from him since I have called multiple times.
I see he responds to tripadvisor reviews, so maybe he will see this, as I am expecting a refund. However, be warned he looks invested with his replies but he is unreachable during normal business hours.
drive to the next hotel or sleep in your car
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
August 2, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
I am sorry that you had to go through a huge sand storm, and then had problems at our hotel. Regretably, sand affects our locks and a/c, and we are continually cleaning them to get sand out of them. However, You indicated that it took you a long time to check in. When you had difficulty in opening the door, our front desk person immediately went out with you to open it.You also
indicated to her that you had seen a cricket in the room, which she indicated to you was a possibility despite extensive pest control program. For myself, I was available at the front desk until 2:30 pm, for over 12 hours. but I received no calls from you or you did not indicate anything to me at the front desk. I personally checked every one out and greeted everyone at breakfast. However, I offer my very humble apology for any inconvenience caused to you.On your return visit we will provide you with a complimentary room.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.