We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whisper's Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Whisper's Ranch Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elgin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whisper's Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Whisper's Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1490 Hwy 83, Canelo, Elgin, AZ 85611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Elgin B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Whisper's Ranch is somewhat remote in relation to the wineries and restaurants in town but who cares! It was so peaceful and some homey it didn't matter. We had a seriously good night's sleep in the upstairs king bed. There are several trails (including the Arizona Trail) nearby and of course the fabulous wineries are about 15 miles away. Breakfast was scrambled eggs, English muffin, pan roasted red potatoes and juices. We took a tour of the property with the owner - she runs an animal sanctuary (animals are sponsored so they receive the best care). Jody is a fabulous hostess and a good-hearted soul.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whispersranch, Owner at Whisper's Ranch Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your special Birthday visit at our B & B. Guests like you are what make our work worthwhile and meaningful. We hope to see you again soon, and make sure to let us know you'd like to try a homemade cheesecake next time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

This B&B ranks in the top overall B&B. We wanted to spend a special Xmas away but not too far. We were not disappointed. The bed in the upstairs bedroom is more comfortable than mine which made for a very restful sleep. A fire was set in the fireplace by the keeper, a nice extra not expected. Breakfast was prepared by our host Toni. With spacious rooms and a gracious host, we plan on revisiting this gem.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Whisper's Ranch for 3 nights. It was a bit farther from the Sonoita wineries than we expected. We didn't mind the drive though. It was secluded and totally relaxing.

We were fortunate enough to be the only customers the weeknights we were there, so we got to visit every morning with Toni. This was a real treat! We are very adventurous eaters, so we did gluten-free and vegan and our breakfasts were great! Toni made a raw, vegan cheesecake and saved us a piece. It was delicious!!

We do plan to return and will take some prepared dinners with us. The restaurants in Sonoita that serve dinner are slim pickings. This way we can enjoy a winery, take a bottle of wine back to the B&B, and really relax for the rest of the evening!

The sitting room and loft are great. It would be fun to have a small group of friends stay at the B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Whisper's Ranch is a beautiful place. The landscape, the house, the animals in the sanctuary near by and most of all Toni, (the owner) all worked together in making our visit to this B&B an amazing experience we won't soon forget. I could go on forever with all of the wonderful things that I have to say about this place, but to keep this from turning in to a short novel I will simply say that Whisper's Ranch B&B is a real treasure and I would highly recommend it to anybody that can appreciate a chance to relax and have a minute to recognize God's love and blessings in the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed on the upper level - big room, friendly staff, good breakfast and close to the wineries. Don't forget to go next door into Patagonia for amazing pizza at the Velvet Elvis. Fabulous food at the grassland's cafe - lunch and dinner only. Run by an older couple - europian fresh food. And the stars at night......breathtaking!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Park
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights. This is a great place to get away from it all, but is only about 1+1/2 hours from the Tucson airport. The owners, Toni and Ross, are very nice people and did all they could to make our stay comfortable. If you stay there, you must get Toni to make you her French Toast for breakfast, it is the best you will ever get. They also run the Whisper's Animal
Sanctuary, which is next door. On the first morning of our stay, Ross and Toni gave us a tour of the sanctury which includes horses, donkeys, goats and geese. The bed must have been made of a cloud as it was very comfortable.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whisper's Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whisper's Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1490 Hwy 83, Canelo, Elgin, AZ 85611
Location: United States > Arizona > Elgin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Arizona's Wine Country. Close to Tucson and Sierra Vista ... worlds away from fast-paced city life. This serene sanctuary for humans awaits you. We offer a beautiful natural setting, comfortable lodging accommodations, gracious hospitality and truly fine food to make you rested and revitalized amid the peaceful setting of our mountain oasis. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whisper's Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.