We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Arizona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village of Elgin Winery

The Village of Elgin Winery
The Elgin Complex, HC1 Box 47, Elgin, AZ 85611
520-455-9309
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 8 things to do in Elgin
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best in Arizona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Village of Elgin is the best place for Arizona wine. They are friendly and a preferred destination. I have been going there for 10 years and I cant wait to go back. I took my friends there and now they talk about it and return yearly. I have been to wineries all over the US and I love Village of Elgin the best. Thanks to Gary and his wife for the yummy cake and experience ... We will be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good to see but expect little...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was looking for some great local wines to bring back to family in Ontario and was told this was the place to go. We arrived and were in the "tasting room" for almost 10 minutes before anyone came to help us at all.

Once someone came - they were very helpful with tasting and offering samples of wines for selection. The interior is dreary and dark - it definitely needs a facelift BUT they do carry a few different wineries and their selections so it made shopping a bit easier than going to one winery at a time.

So - if you're near - it's worth stopping in but expect darkness, a nice staff when they are there to help and a great selection of wines.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Needs cleaning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place needs a facelift, and some wines that represent something other than commodity grade cheap tasting boozy wines. Clean your yard and haul off the broken cars!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Awesome Wine and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The wine was great at this Winery, and the staff was VERY helpful about the surrounding location and amenities. EVERY last wine that they manufactured had a personal story to go with it, and every wine, as well, was AZ sourced. I appreciate wineries in AZ that try to keep it "in the family" so to speak. :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Super Good and Super Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My sister-in-law and I have been here for the last two years. The wine tasting was exceptionally fun last year as the guy pouring the different wines was friendly, funny, and knowledgeable about the many wines we tried. This last March the fellow pouring must have been quite new as he was hesitant about the history of the wine, was kind of stand-offish, and came off as not very friendly. But coming away from both years, I would go back there again. I love this area and you don't have to drive all over the state to find some great wines and wine tastings.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village of Elgin Winery also viewed

 

Been to The Village of Elgin Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village of Elgin Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.