We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonoita Vineyards

Sonoita Vineyards
H. C. 1 Box 33, 290 Elgin-Canelo Road, Elgin, AZ 85611
520-455-5893
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Elgin
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We took the scenic drive to Sonoita vineyards for a wine tasting, and were not disappointed. It is a lovely location and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We are not wine experts, but they made us feel at home and took the time to explain the wines and answer questions. Will definitely be going back to buy more wine!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Who knew you could grow grapes in Southern Arizona??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent a pleasant day out with friends at Sonoita Vineyards. We were there for the fall festival and blessing of the wine. For $15 we sampled for wines with pairings, plus sample other wines in the Tasting Room. We also received a wine glass and an ornament. On an ordinary day, $8 will get you a glass and entrance into the tasting room to sample the various wines. They have reds, whites, one sparkling wine and one for desert. Lunch is available on the weekends. You can check the menu at their website as it changes from week to week. Alternatively, you could spread a blanket on the hillside with a picnic lunch and enjoy the fantastic scenery. You can purchase wine to take home. The best price is on a case. You can buy all of one, or take a few bottle of each one you liked. The gift shop has a nice variety of wine tools, condiments for pairing, etc. It's a great day out, but go with friends and sample responsibly!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Jeff did a wonderful time making us feel welcome and explaining the different wines. On top of that, the wine was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Direct Hit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have lived here for years and have never visited Sonoita Vineyards so one day I just WENT. It was the most fabulous experience ever. Everyone was informative and generous... I learned a lot about wine, tried new ones and brought some home,

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Who would have thought that Tucson = wine country?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

A short one hour drive southeast from Tucson is Elgin and there you will find distinctive wineries all offering a large selection of wines. The price is right at only a few dollars per person to sample chardonnay, sauvignon blanc, cabernet sauvignon, syrah, merlot and pinot noire.
All of the places we visited had friendly and knowledgeable individuals who didn't push you to buy (but you can!)
Do have a designated driver as you don't want to get in trouble. Or you can book a limousine for the day!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonoita Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Sonoita Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonoita Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.