We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Rock Saloon and Grill at Triangle T” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Triangle T Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Triangle T Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Triangle T Guest Ranch
4190 Dragoon Road, Dragoon, AZ 85609   |  
Hotel amenities
Arizona
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“The Rock Saloon and Grill at Triangle T”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We did not stay at the guest ranch we stopped for a bite at the Rock Saloon and Grill after reading an article on 52 Weekend Adventures in Arizona.

It is a bit hard to find, take exit 318, going east or west off I-10, Dragoon Road, and drive ¼ mile to the Triangle T guest ranch sign the Saloon is about another ¼ mile back in the property you wind through the guest ranch and like out of a western movie there it sits swinging doors and all.

Inside is the “rock” that it is built around, a pretty cool place. The whole place is, well, rustic. We each had a salad my wife had a roasted pork salad that was accompanied by some really good sweet potato fries, mine was a steak salad both were fresh and nicely done. Service was good, not excellent but the beer was cold and inexpensive. It was Saturday night and a country western band was starting to play as we were leaving. We’d have loved to stay but could not on this trip. Likely next time we are in the area

Triangle T Guest Ranch and "The Rock Saloon and Grill" is located in the Texas Canyon area one the prettier “rest stops” anywhere. The surrounding rock formations are quite spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thatcher, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at the Triangle T. What a disappointment!!!! We stayed in a casita with a bedroom, bath, living room with fireplace and kitchenette. When the owner showed us to our casita she noted that the previoius guest had used the fireplace (the ashes had not been cleaned out and she did not send anyone to do that). I asked if there was a store nearby to get some milk, she said she would get me some from the restaurant (she didn't do that). She said she would let us know a time when breakfast would be served (she didn't do that). We lit a fire that evening, adding to the old ashes. I excepted for $205.00 a night that the room would be straightened the next day and the ashes would be removed, we put the sign on the door for cleaning service and left for the day. We returned to nothing having been done. It wasn't like they were full, the first night we were the only guests and the second night there was only one other couple that came in at 2 a.m. I felt as if we were an imposition!!!!! We have traveled to numerous other small towns in Arizona and had excellent experiences. This was a huge disappointment!!!!! Guess you have to be a horse person to get good service at this establishment.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi_TriangleT, at Triangle T Guest Ranch, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting Triangle T Ranch. I'm sorry your stay was as not as accommodating as you had hoped. We hope you will try us again. Just a note - Benson is only 12 miles & 15 minutes from the Ranch. We can also provide additional meals with prior notice.

We hope you will give us another try. We will offer 10% off your next visit - just mention this post on TripAdvisor
-Bobbi Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Triangle T was our first experience staying in Arizona! It is truly a place worth spending more than just a weekend. My husband and I stayed in "The Dukes" cabin for several nights. It's a cozy cottage with a lovely bedroom, reading room and full kitchen. We had a campfire one night while watching the stars in the clearest sky I've ever seen. Every morning after breakfast we went to meet our wrangler and the horses we would be riding. My husband wanted to learn all he could about the horses and the wranglers were very accommodating. We had not ridden in years, but we learned so much from Don and Mark. The half day trips are awesome and scenery is something you would never experience if not on a horse. We saw so many different types of cacti and mesquite trees are everywhere. After a day of riding, we would stop in the saloon for a cold beverage and sit on the expansive porch. We so enjoyed the ranch we plan to go back next fall with our kids and grandkids and stay in the large bunkhouse. Linda, Don and staff are there to make your vacation a memorable experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

My parents have spent their previous two winters at Triangle T Ranch and this year i wanted to see the place they had been raving about. We arrived when it was dark out and got settled into our caista, two bedrooms and a bath, all decorated in period style with quilts on the comfortable beds and wrought iron decorations on the walls. When we awoke in the morning and stepped outside , we just couldn't believe the views! From our courtyard we could see the rolling hillside with giant boulders all over, amazing! Later that day us ladies went for a horseback ride with Penny, the wrangler. It was such a beautiful day and was a terrific way to really see the surrounding area. And i was also glad to realize that they treat their horses as my family always did....as their beloved pets ! We really enjoyed the evenings at the saloon where there was live music and fantastic food- they grill and smoke over a mesquite fire and everything was delicious! We also really enjoyed talking with the proprietors, Don and Linda, over breakfast in the mornings. We loved hearing about the history of the ranch and about all the previous famous guests(think John Wayne!). You can tell they really love what they are doing. Special thanks to Don and Linda for taking such good care of us making us welcome! I look forward to next winter to come visit again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseilles, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We just returned home to the Midwest after having our first visit out West. We spent 5 days at the Triangle T Guest Ranch in Dragoon, AZ. We have family who has wintered there with their camper the past 2 years. We kept hearing how great it is, so we decided to go visit them! We stayed in one of the historic casitas, #3. The casita was spacious, filled with antiques, a wonderful mattress on the king-sized bed, and an original claw-footed bathtub. Our casita had a courtyard that was supplied with outside furniture and a firepit. There was a huge pile of split wood to put on the fire every night. In the morning, you would walk over to the building that had a dining room for the guests and the ranchers alike. Hot coffee was always waiting, and you could have a continental breakfast. But for just a few dollars, you could get served a hot breakfast prepared by the cook; eggs how you like them, french toast, sausages, fresh fruit-it was delightful. You eat at a huge antique dining room table that would take you back in time. If you get real lucky, the owners Don & Linda would be there too, and share their stories of the rich history of the Ranch!
I took a horseback ride after breakfast, and that was quite the experience! Penny, our wrangler, took us all out on a very long trail ride throughout the ranch property, and her knowledge of the land, and the Ranch, kept us on the edge of our saddles. The horses we rode were friendly and very aware of the lay of the land. We went up and over rocks, down through terrain, and even saw a few coyotes in the distance! The property the Ranch sits on is breathtaking-the rock formations alone are worth the trip. While the girls were horseback riding, Linda & Don had arranged for the boys to take a Jeep tour about an hour away. They went on an exhilarating ride that my husband is still talking about. Don & Linda, and any of their workers on the Ranch, are more than helpful with information about the area and places to go tour off of the Ranch. They probably would have packed us a lunch to take with us if we had asked! We did very much enjoy the Saloon at the Ranch too, where you can get a variety of drinks all the way to a steak and ribs dinner cooked over their mesquite wood grill-mouthwatering! The night we ate dinner there, there was live entertainment (we love Rusty!) and dancing. We were so welcomed by the staff there, and by the end of the night we had all made a few new friends. We would have liked to have used the great looking pool & hot tub, but the weather wasn't cooperating with us as far as temperatures went, darn it! We got to go on a tour of the Ranch, and saw some of the other casitas. One of them has an original wood-burning fireplace!But each one is different, with different styles and items in them. We would have enjoyed any of them, but esp. like the ones with the kitchen areas! And did I mention the stars in the sky? I have NEVER seen so many stars in the sky, and it looked like you could just reach up and grab one! We can't wait to return again. The next time, we'll go when it's a little warmer and use that pool and hot tub! But truly, we'll look forward to re-connecting with our new Triangle T friends and sit out by the fire with them and share our stories over a drink :) Don & Linda, you've got a great thing going there at the Ranch and we expect to see you again! Thank you both for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We have a group of racers that stay at the "T" when we are racing in Wilcox AZ. it is the best place to stay bar none!! everbody is super accommadating. food it great and the saloon is a blast!! and my dogs love it there also.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi_TriangleT, at Triangle T Guest Ranch, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting Triangle T Ranch in 2010. Your couldn't of described us any better! We hope you will visit again. Contact me directly to help arrange a group stay again!
-Bobbi Jane
bobbi_trianglet@earthlink.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

No hot water - the hot water heater was turned all the way down but after turning it all the way up and waiting all night, I still had to take a cold shower

No heat - apparently the pilot light was out but it wouldn't start for me
One small bottle of conditioner in the bathroom - no soap, shampoo, etc. - except the hand pump that was broken.

No breakfast - not a soul in the kitchen or even a drop of coffee waiting - only a few boxes of dry cereal was sitting on a table but no milk. . .

$5 "deposit" for a key that you can not return because no one is around - just a note on the door about running errands but no one in the kitchen, the office or the saloon.

Lot's of animals - foam animals - set up for target practice - I found this distracted from the natural beauty of the surroundings as I thought "what is that? Oh, a dinosaur." (really!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi_TriangleT, at Triangle T Guest Ranch, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
You visited us almost 4 years ago. So much has changed! The Ranch is celebrating it's 92nd Anniversary in 2014. We had recent improvements including support from Hotel Impossible. We hope you will stop in again for a tour or contact me directly for discounts on your next stay.
-Bobbi Jane
bobbi_trianglet@earthlink.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Triangle T Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triangle T Guest Ranch

Address: 4190 Dragoon Road, Dragoon, AZ 85609
Location: United States > Arizona > Dragoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dragoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1922 ~ 2014 92 Years of True Western Hospitality Our guest casitas are original, authentic, adobe buildings. Each casita is beautifully furnished with your comfort and relaxation in mind. We can accommodate your individual needs, whether that be a weekend getaway, overnight stay, a week inclusive vacation, or event. With facilities for up to 60 people, reserving the entire ranch will allow you the privacy and comfort to host your next retreat or event. B&B Rate: Breakfast included. Lodging in historic, authentic ranch casitas. Ranch Rate: All inclusive stay! Lodging, 3 meals a day, horseback riding & all ranch amenities. RV Park: Right in the heart of the historical Triangle T guest ranch with full 30 and 50 amp hookups. Dry Camping: Pitch a tent on our 160 acre ranch in Texas Canyon and the Dragoon Mountains. Horse Lodging: Yes, you can bring your own horse to the Triangle T - call for rates and accommodations. Dog Friendly Ranch: Ask for a dog friendly room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Triangle T Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Triangle t Guest Ranch Hotel Dragoon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triangle T Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.