We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are nothing like the pictures” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pines Motel to your Saves list
Pines Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Camino Real, Cottonwood, AZ 86326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rooms are nothing like the pictures”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

The rooms are nothing like they are pictured on the website...The tub was totally disgusting...There are plenty of other motels in the area to choose from...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
Thank you for your review. The pictures you speak of on the website are of the MiniSuites with feather blankets. However, you chose a 2 queen standard room and there are accurate pictures of both types of rooms from the website reservations. The tubs you speak of are vigorously cleaned after every guest and applogize it may have appeared dirty. One quick call to the front desk would have prompted a quick inspection by our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    44
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
66
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palermo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We stayed in the kitchen suites in the newer section of the motel. The proprietor thinks the mattresses are Serta Master Suite. I forgot to look before leaving, but if it's a comfy sleet with nice sheets and bedding you will love this place. They offer a nice BBQ and it's close to the grocery store. The room is very large and everything was super clean. I would definitely stay again, if ever in this town. Too bad it's not a chain! I would definitely look for them in other areas of the world if they were. The beds equal those I had in San Francisco, CA and paid a whole lot more for the experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you for the great review! Those beds ARE comfy!! :) See you next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

We were very happy to have found The Pines. The owners could not have been nicer or more helpful. The room was fersh, clean and appeard newly remodeled. We had a bad experience at the nearby Super 8 and were glad to find such a great place as The Pines.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Let me say first that I have stayed at the Pines Motel on numerous occasions for extended vacations and previous to this I had no complaints. The last time was no different, except that when I returned home I recieved a credit card bill with two tickets to the Verde Canyon Railroad charged to my account. I never booked those tickets, and I has already returned to my home in Minnesota on the date of the train ride. I disputed the charge, cancelled my credit card, and submitted a detailed report to the credit card company. I was then contacted by the Pines Motel about the investigation. The charge was removed from my account, but it had been booked through the Pines Motel and no expanation or apology was forthcoming. I wonder how many others this has happened to or if this was an isolated incident.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
We're sorry you had to go through all the trouble. Sometimes, but not very often, mistakes are made and quickly corrected as you mentioned. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Where to begin........

Prior to our visit, we were told, the room would be cleaned from top to bottom and the carpets were shampooed between stays due to the fact that animals are allowed to room here. We could not figure out, why our white socks became black, just after an hour of wear.

By our second night, we figured it out!!!! The carpets must not have been shampooed as we were told they would be. If they were, then they should consider, a new cleaning machine.

There was a kitchenette in the room we stayed in as we stayed in a mini-suite for five nights. This was the main plus of being there. They provide a full size refrigerator, cooktop, toaster, microwave, clean pots, pans, dishes, etc.

Our main complaint of our stay was the fact they placed us underneath a room, where they knew that the other guests would be waking up before 5am and were loud people to begin with.

We are not travelers to complain, but vacation to us is supposed to be fun and restful, being able to at least sleep in until 6:30 in the morning. When we approached the staff regarding this problem, we were told we should have complained the first night. They were extremely offended and must have taken it personally, as they began rattling off a list of excuses in an unprofessional way. To make matters worse, their own child, stood by as we tried to have a discussion with the the two "managers". When we went back to our room, and tried to place our complaint with the owner, on the owners' voicemail, since SHE writes in her mission statement that she values the quality of the customers stay and wants to make the customer happy. A few minutes, we got a phone call, back from the front desk telling us the owner will not be in for another week, as she is on vacation. The man proceeded to laugh in a condescending tone that we had tried to contact the owner after dealing with him.

Overall, we had one good night sleep to end our trip, after they spoke to the people above us, for the second time. As in any hospitality business, the customer is always right and should be treated with respect on their stay and the Pines Motel fell short of this. It would have been nice to have been compensated for our unsatisfied stay. We are extremely disappointed in paying almost $500 bucks.

If the owner, Anna May, reads this, I hope she knows the way their managers refer to their establishment as the man told us that "What do you expect-we are just a motel."

  • Liked — kitchenette
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
It is helpful to know when a guest has a problem as soon as it happens. Communicating an issue that has happened days in the past, doesn't allow us to correct the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

We stay in Cottonwood about once per year. The previous years we have stayed at the Best Western and the Super 8. Both were good motels for the area and we preferred the Super 8. However, on this particular weekend, when we wanted to ride the Verde Canyon Railroad and stay for 1 night, the Super 8 did not have a non-smoking room available so we looked at the 2 reviews on TA for the Pines Motel and decided to give it a try. The room was clean but small and the walls are so thin that you can hear into the adjoining rooms, but that was not the problem. We were charged for a $17.00 miscellaneous charge and when we called the manager (actually an owner), we were told in an unfriendly tone that the charge was for 2 missing washcloths and a towel. We did not take any of the 3 items so we asked for a credit and were denied. On top of the insult was the injury, we found out that when we booked the motel room and thought that the owner/manager reserved our train ride in the name of great customer service, they actually received our 10% AAA discount that we could have received if we had booked the trip directly. I would strongly advise any Cottonwood visitors to stay at the other 2 main motels or check into accommodations in Jerome (5 miles away), an old mining town. This mom and pop establishment does not deserve our Trip Advisor educated group's business.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
We charge for all stolen items from our motel. The credit card charge for this was never disputed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

We visited the Pines a few weeks ago during a road trip through Northern Arizona and had a very pleasant stay.

The rooms were spacious, clean and well-kept. Beds were large and comfortable and extra facilities included a fridge, microwave and hairdryer. The bathroom was also clean and well equipped with a separate vanity area.

The motel features a small pool and sun deck, soda machines and a coin-operated laundry - which was extremely useful midway through our trip.

Staff were courteous and efficient and had arranged tickets for the Verde Valley Railway as part of an accomodation package.

The Pines is a superior roadside motel at a very competative price. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Great facilities at a reasonable price.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Thank you so much for staying with us and leaving such a great review! The pictures are also very appreciated! We have since updated the king beds to have comfy feather blankets and throws! very classy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Motel

Address: 920 Camino Real, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hill, the Pines Motel boasts beautiful views of the scenic Cottonwood and Verde Valley areas. The Pines Motel is in the middle of it all. We are only 15 minutes from the magnificent red rocks of Sedona, Arizona and Oak Creek Canyon and other popular destinations such as the Verde River, Verde Canyon Railroad, Out of Africa, Cliff Castle Casino, Grand Canyon, Jerome, Clarkdale, Camp Verde, Montezuma's Castle and Tuzigoot. Browse our site and learn about area activities. We have Tesla electric car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Cottonwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.