We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locally Owned Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pines Motel to your Saves list
Pines Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Camino Real, Cottonwood, AZ 86326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Locally Owned Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Pines Motel is a basic motel, but locally owned and conveniently located just off the main highway in Cottonwood. The room was clean and spacious and quiet; the bed very comfortable. A frig and microwave were handy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are happy you took the time to leave a review for us! Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    51
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
41
75
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights this weekend. The room was super clean. The people were very nice. It was about 20 minutes to Sedona. What more do you need? Couple of cons: It was pretty noisy from people and cars, as it is pretty close to the highway. The pool was covered for the first couple of days because it was raining, but they opened it this weekend and it sure looked to need some cleaning. It would have been nice to have a little continental breakfast or something, but the price is right. Be aware, though--they do NOT take American Express (which is the card I had planned to use), and they want payment up front so do see your room first.
There's a great natural food store across the street and a Safeway a few blocks down. Might not stay there next time but the price was right for this weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you mamzuki for the great review! At this time of year we keep the pool covered as the nights get chilly but if someone wants to jump in, it only takes a second to uncover it - sometimes leaves get trapped underneath. Sorry about that! We are also off the main highway (89A) by a block much further than other places to stay in Cottonwood and we think our prices are right too! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I had never stayed in Cottonwood before so we were pleased to find a "gem" when we stayed at The Pines Motel. The accommodations were so pristine and we felt very comfortable in our room. Not fancy but sure suited our needs for one night. The owner was very friendly. We like to give the private motels our business whenever we can---so much more of a personal feel and this one SURE FIT THE BILL!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you dusman! It's reviews like this that help keep our family owned and operated motel going! We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

The people at this motel there very nice from the time I made the reservation till the time I check out. Motel very easy to find, very clean, I only stay one night but next time I go back this is my place to stay again.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Juan - Thank you so much for the review. We apprciate that you took the time! We all hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at the Pines Motel for one week the end of August after, my daughter had my first grandchild. We stayed in a room with a queen size bed, no kitchen. The room was small, but very clean with newer, well kept furniture. The room had in addition to the bed, a chair with ottoman, television cabinet and flat screen tv, two side tables, a small table and chair. We also had a small refrigerator microwave and coffeemaker with daily coffee. Unfortunately, we drink decaf coffee which was not available, but if you drink regular coffee it's a nice addition. It's an older room and very small. Don't stay here if you expect a suite and luxury. But if you want a clean room that is well kept this is the place for you. And the price was right. I found the front office to be very responsive to any requests we had and would recommend this motel for anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front building which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving a review! We will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the apartment style room 2 nights in July. My husband, myself, sister and her husband. There was plenty of room. We had a full kitchen, small dining area, living room and a bed that pulled out of the wall in the living room. There was a separate bedroom with its own TV which was nice! The only draw back was there was only one bathroom and it was in the bedroom. So you had to go through the bedroom in the middle of the night to get to the bathroom. But this wasn't that big of a deal. They also had a laundry room at the motel which I used. They have everything you need at the office if you just ask. We didn't know that and ran to Walmart for soap powder. :( Everything was very clean and nice. We would stay there again if we ever get back to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you Tricia for the the review! We think the apartment suite is a great bargain with the 3 beds, 2 flat screen TVs and the full kitchen! Great for larger families. We hope to see you next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is our second time here in 3 months. We booked a mini suite this time again. The Motel is a great place for a quick get away, only a little over an hour away from phoenix. The Beds were very nice to sleep on and the room setup is very coosy. We really like the patio area were you can smoke and sit and look out into the valley. A couple days we have thunderstroms and we could watch them coming in while sitting down enjoying our dinner which was cooked on the stove. Plates,glasses and pans are available for use in the room. Maid service and staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Any unit is fine in this motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCory, Manager at Pines Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for the review. The late summer monsoons are our favortie time of year here! As you noted, all our kitchentte rooms are fully stocked with everything you may need to cook. You bring the food! Thank you and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pines Motel

Address: 920 Camino Real, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Location: United States > Arizona > Cottonwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cottonwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hill, the Pines Motel boasts beautiful views of the scenic Cottonwood and Verde Valley areas. The Pines Motel is in the middle of it all. We are only 15 minutes from the magnificent red rocks of Sedona, Arizona and Oak Creek Canyon and other popular destinations such as the Verde River, Verde Canyon Railroad, Out of Africa, Cliff Castle Casino, Grand Canyon, Jerome, Clarkdale, Camp Verde, Montezuma's Castle and Tuzigoot. Browse our site and learn about area activities. We have Tesla electric car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Cottonwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.